Be part of this creative and artistic community and help with building near the village of Valderrobres, Spain

Country

España

66 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    11/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    326

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 43 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
Contacto Registro
  2019 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    The association was created in 2008 to promote and create sustainable projects. we all also have a love of music and art so we often combine the arts with environmental projects. we have held music and cinema festivals, regular art exhibitions, and have hosted over 60 volunteers from allover the world, the permanent residents include deb the owner of the 50 acre farm, Ben her son 28, Antonio who is a wine specialist and has lived here for nearly 3 yrs. at the moment we also have working with us an artist from Senegal . the house hold is very basic. we are off grid, solar power, and use water from the acequia agro water canal. we live 4 kilometres from a the village of Valderrobres on the fringes of the Ports de Beciete, and the Mystrasco mountains. Although we are located in Aragon we are close to the Catalonia border. there is a fresh water lake 2.5 klicks and the vista is fabulous.

    we have a lot of dogs, but at the moment we do not keep other animals, in the past we have had horses, sheep and many others, but we are very focused on converting the large farm house into 4 apartments for our E Co housing project. we are an easy going bunch and do permit smoking and drinking (not during work of coarse) on the farm. although the place is very peaceful there always seems to be a fiesta near by.

    It can be hot here in summer and very cold in winter as we are on the slopes of the mountain. we have a little river running at the bottom of the land and a forest at the top. the middle is mostly olive trees. the 300 yr old stone house had been abandoned for 60 years and in the last 18 we have been in a state of constant restoration....we are getting there, but it is not completed. we do have private bed room for every one, a shared bath room,communial kitchen and bbq area. hot water and lights (now). fairly poor telephone reception and limited internet. we try to meet individual dietary needs although we do ask vegans to prepare their own food.

    the 15th century village of Valderrobres has a castle, impressive church, river many lovely plazas, bars and restaurants. it is busy in summer and extremely quite in winter

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Otra
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Previously our volunteers have found the experience beneficial because of the variety of jobs there are to do here. we share expertise, exchange ideas and love bringing an artistic and creative touch to all we do. we like to recycle as much as we can, to integrate modern comfort with traditional building techniques. this historic area has is in it self a fascinating area to explore, culturally rich. we often meet up with like minded friends and neighbors to share experiences.


    He have lived in this unique area of Spain, with its particular political history for over 18 years. This has opened doors in the local community.

    it is important to us that the workers and volunteers feel they are both assisting the association and part of a life long learning experience.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are hoping to find a person/s who will join our team to finish one of the apartments this summer, plumbing, painting, general building, dry stone wall construction, laying tiles, some carpentry. not necessarily all these skills in one person of course, but we are looking for some one who is accustomed to handling tools and has building experience of some kind.they will work together with our team and on some projects alone. also the general running of the farm, cutting wood, pruning olive trees, wall and path maintenance is also required.
    we like people to choose the area they are most proficient in and willing to learn new skills. we work in Spanish and english. but some people here also speak french, some times of the year we have dutch and Italian speakers here too.although we really do need people with experience we are able to teach ADDITIONAL skills for those who are interested..ie how to prune and care for an olive tree.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    English, Spanish.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The house is a 300 yr old stone built farm house of considerable size. 3/4 restored. we have a private room each, a shared bath room and communal kitchen. patios and bbq areas. We have running water, hot and cold; and solar power. log fires for heat in the chilly winters. no AC in hot weather, but as the whole house is thick stone walls, it is surprisingly cool inside. the house work is shared and cooking is either individual, or groups depending on our plans. the social life is surprisingly active and therefore especially in summer, regularly sitting together for meals is infrequent and spontaneous. We are all pretty good cooks and there is never a shortage of good grub. usually when we have a group of volunteers or resident workers we do cook communally and eat together, it really depends on each group.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    One day a week we like to have an outing to another village or up in the mountains for a picnic or swim at the lake, or visit historic places of interest. we can also arrange horse riding near by, motor cross and the beaches are only 1hr 20 mins away so a Sunday drive to the coast is a really super day out especially to the Ebro's delta. There is a swimming pool in every village and the lake is cool, deep and refreshing for fishing, kayaking and relaxing. Larger towns such as Tortosa and Alcaniz are also just an hour or less away and make a pleasant day out. This summer there are a lot of live music events planned in the villages and in august the fiestas are MAD. funny and loud!!!

    We are not a house hold with dozens of rules, but we insist on mutual respect, especially on issues of equality of gender, race and religion. racism is not tolerated. We do not permit drug taking on the farm although we do smoke.
    fire is the greatest risk to our farm in summer, therefore we are very strict about the use of fires, BBQ etc. We have regular house meetings every 2 or 3 weeks to check every body is happy in the group, share ideas. However the volunteers and workaway visitors will receive a weekly supervision meeting to ensue every thing is meeting each others needs.

    On the building site we have the usual health and safety rules especially when using power tools. training can be provided if needed.

    Many of our first volunteers have returned for their holidays and as the years have past returned with their young families. We are still in touch with a lot of them who have said that their time here had a profound effect on their young lives, which is enormously gratifying.

    Our work days are usually 4 days a week plus one to visit some where nice and interesting. the week end is to chill in what ever way people wish. In the summer it gets extremely hot so we tend to start early and finish about 2/3pm unless we are working indoors, but usually work 4 X 6 to 7 hour days or 5 X 5hour days, depending on the job at hand.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 267585647619