Carpenters & handy types to renovate a little house near Valencia

Country

España

38 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    22/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    441

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I am painting a beautiful rustic house just outside Valencia. So I am looking for volunteers who are happy with a paintbrush. If you like cooking or gardening you'd would be most welcome too. (Anyone who can get our pizza oven working is definitely welcome!!!)

    I am a English lady in my 50's, and am painting a lovely rustic house is set in olive and orange groves in the mountains of Montserrat. The house is 30 minutes walk / 10 mins drive from the little town of Montserrat and 30 minutes drive from the bustling beach town of Valencia. I have a big car, so can take you to and from the towns - meaning you get the best of the quiet countryside while you are in Montserrat, and enjoy the hustle and bustle of the city on our trips out!

    The house is rustic (i.e. old Spanish style) but very spacious with lovely gardens. We have a pool, a sun terrace, brick barbecue, indoor pizza oven and cool interior with generous kitchen, several shower rooms - so plenty of space. We find teams of up to 4 helpers - couples, singles or groups of friends - work really well, and we work together create an international community and give everyone a great holiday experience. You get to swap your carpentry, painting or other practical skills for a fabulous holiday in a quite amazing rural place, a chance to practice languages and make friends.

    Volunteers are welcome to stay between a week to 2 months.We also welcome families with older children (8+).

    THE ONLY THING WE INSIST IS WE CANNOT ACCEPT SMOKERS ... due to the host's allergies. Sorry.

    The household will consist mainly of myself (a young 55) and at least one of my friends who are in their 30's/early 40's. I am a wheelchair user and this is a rehabilitation holiday for me ... and I am doing brilliantly in the Spanish climate!) I often can't join in with the painting, but I make sure you get fabulous meals to reward you for your labours with lots of trips and adventures. We also have two beautiful Working Cocker spaniels who are part of the family.

    I am an experienced and highly recommended host on another volunteer website and I have made many lasting friends from former volunteers. At least 4 of them are coming back this Summer to lend a hand again ... so you can take that as a good recommendation!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Compañía para ancianos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Although I am an English / English speaking host, I run this project very much as a cultural exchange. We try to have volunteers of several different nationalities staying with us, so you'll join be a delicious melting pot of global folk, all out to have a productive, fun summer and learn from each other.

    We really want our guests to enjoy the beautiful Spanish setting and discover the delights of the area, not just help paint the house. I give English lessons and we all get together to play Board games in the evenings. We also have movie nights, enjoy a glass of vino together or go for lovely walks. We'll also arrange a few trips into Valencia and around the Spanish coast and you'd be most welcome to join us.

    Ideally, you will be friendly and sociable by nature and keen to enjoy the community aspect of your stay as much as you will enjoy the satisfaction of volunteering!

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We need help with painting the exterior and interior of the house, and some odd carpentry / woodwork, gardening and fencing jobs. Oh, and we have a lovely pizza oven, but it is a bit wide at the mouth and sends smoke back into the kitchen. So if you know about building pizza ovens and have the skills to put ours right, we'd be very happy to host you too!

    Volunteers tend to work 4 hours a day on weekdays (normally early mornings before the day gets too hot) then enjoy the rest of the day to themselves, or to join in whatever we all decide to do - trips out, walks, touring local towns etc. You give your labour in exchange for a comfortable bed, excellent food, a wonderful cultural experience and a chance to practice English / Spanish (and even other languages) with the other guests.

    Aside from the daily painting etc, volunteers all chip in to help prepare food, clearing up, and cleaning. We don't have 'rules' - just the usual positive community spirit where everyone helps everyone else so we can all find time to go and have fun!

    In return for your help, I promise a good standard of accommodation in a lovely setting, with all meals at home included. I also work hard to ensure you get enough entertainment / sightseeing and fun for you to feel you've had a real 'holiday'. For two full days a week we stop all work on the house and totally chill - usually the weekend but we swap according to the weather. On those days, you are totally free to do whatever you wish - including travel, chill at home or join us on one of our tours. The most important thing is you have a lovely time!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Español: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We can accommodate you within the house (in a single room whenever we can and definitely your own bed unless you come as part of a couple)
    Volunteers have their own shared bathroom / shower room.
    We also have a fabulous field available for your own trailer, tent or camper van.

    We pride ourselves on serving up and sharing wonderful plentiful meals (mainly vegetarian) and volunteers are asked to help prepare and cook, and take it in turns to wash and tidy up.

    Please note: WE CANNOT ACCOMMODATE SMOKERS ... even if you smoke away from the house ... due to severe allergies / breathing difficulties of the host. Sorry!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have a car and can arrange transfers / collections etc from the local train station or airport (Valencia)
    Just let us know when and where ... we can come and get you!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 258845983226