Wanted, enthusiastic folk to join with us in achieving many varied projects in tiny hamlet in the Limousin, France



68 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Medallas


 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    Hi, my name is Linda.

    I live near St Junien in the Haute Vienne.
    I have lots of projects on the go which I would love to share with Workaway's.

    I live in a very rural hamlet of ten houses of which only 6 are lived in. I am surrounded by working farms, farming sheep and cattle and cereal. My home is a renovation project that is nearly at an end so much of my work is outside in the garden with a little construction work and dry stone walling.
    I speak fairly good French and English.
    Before I came to live in France I worked in West London as a landscape gardener & occasional designer. Working in private gardens throughout West London. I kept a 500 square meter allotment garden for 25 years in the UK. I now have a garden almost twice the size of my allotment which is almost all vegetables and fruit.

    I am addicted to growing food.

    My life here in France has changed over the six years that I have been here. I started out living with a French man rearing sheep, turkeys, geese, ducks, pintarde, chickens and rabbits. Now I am single and nearly vegetarian.
    I eat according to the seasons which means I buy very little food. I grow way too much for just me so love to share with family and friends and of course Workaday guests.

    I drink alcohol but loathe the smoking of cigarettes.

    I am laid back and happy, nothing much phases me.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will be welcomed with open arms and a great time will be had by all.
    You'll get to explore a truly beautiful region of France.
    Share and learn skills.
    Tell and listen to eachothers stories that have brought us to where and who we are today and add to those tales for the future.
    It will be a rewarding experience for all of concerned.

  • Ayuda


    I would like all sorts of people with all sorts of skills to help me but I would say the most important thing is the desire to get things done.
    Some of the work can be hard and heavy but we would always do a mixture of stuff each day so as not to exhaust ourselves.

    The list is endless for the things needed to be achieve here.

    There are lots of gardening tasks from bottling fruit and vegetables as the seasons demand to preparing ground and installing a poly tunnel.
    I would like to extend the vegetable gardens using raised beds and the lasagne system and to create a garden for relaxing in too, a raised deck and a patio area.

    A dry stone wall has tumbled down and that needs re-building.
    There are a few small outbuildings that need re-roofing and the walls need re-pointing.

    I make things from recycled pallets and stuff. So help and ideas there are always welcome

    There are some cats that I take care of but only one occasionally comes into the house.

    There will be many things that I have missed.
    My house is a fair few hundred years old and some sort of renovation or maintenance will go on forever as will the need for help to achieve my dreams.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    The accommodation varies. there is a very nice spare bedroom and a caravan.
    All of which will be warm, clean and comfortable.
    Breakfast, lunch and dinner will be provided every day.
    Please ensure you let me know of any allergies or if you are a vegetarian etc.,
    Our goal is to eat our own produced food as much as possible.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There’s lots to see and do around here but transport is not great therefore we would need to work out a bit of a plan. I would be happy to drop you at places of interest for days or half days or the train station, I'd collect you too! Maybe we'll even go some places together. There are excellent swimming lakes and lots of walking tracks nearby.

    5 minutes away is the Martyr Village of Oradour-sur-Glane. 5 minutes too is St Junien, famous for its leather tanning trade and the manufacture and supply of gloves to the big fashion houses (there are factory shops here if you want an exquisite pair of gloves for you or as a gift). St Junien also offers a wide range of shops, a small cinema and a really good swimming pool (in & out door). A little further out is Limoges famous for its Porcelain making. It’s a fantastic city with much to see and do. Museums, churches, ancient buildings, amazing covered market. Beautiful gardens and riverside walks. The Compostella route comes through the heart of Limoges.
    Public facilities in Limoges are second to none.

    There are truly unspoilt villages some holding their weekly markets
    There are lots of walking and cycling tracks and abundant wildlife.

    Happy to say I finally have 4G which you are welcome to use, within my quota.

    I do not allow you to have guests or smoke in the house, caravan or outbuildings.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 179817687614