Help with my gran, the house, garden and art projects in the beautiful Gower in Wales, UK


Gran Bretaña

113 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 9 dias

  • Medallas


 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

  • Descripción


    Hello welcome to our profile, my name is Isabella and I live on the Gower in South Wales with my grandmother Rosemary. Rosemary has a condition of dementia, but doesn't let that stop her from exploring, going on road trips, gardening, doing artwork and visiting lot's of little seaside or woodlen coffee shops.

    I would like help supporting me in my role as a Carer. I'm looking for someone who would like to live with us and help with a decluttering in the house, some help with cooking beautiful food, gardening, general maintenance and also maybe interested in getting involved with my creative projects. So it is very clear, no personal-care is involved, we have Ellie who helps with that and is lovely! It is help with the house, projects and companionship.

    My name is Isabella, I'm 27 years old and very proactive. In January 2021 I co-created a non-profit organisation that brings creative workshop experiences to unpaid Carers, I also work as a photographer and within the film industry. We are a very creative household and my grandmother is an excellent watercolorist, even though the dementia has made her work more surreal, it is still beautiful.

    - the main help currently is clearing the double garage (Its a large space with wooden beams) and selling anything unwanted, this means researching objects, books etc. And facilitating their sale, 100% of the proceeds are going to fundraise for family we have in La Palma with a retreat centre currently an evacuee site for people and animals. If you wish to volunteer directly search: (Volunteer on the edge of national park, La Caldera de Taburiente, Spain) as currently they need people urgently.
    We are fundraising this end with an upcoming community art project, working in a local theater space with local University lecturers. If you would like to get involved with this please contact me, whether you are staying with us or nearby in South Wales. The exciting part of the clearing out is Re-Designing plans for a photography and art studio, with local film directors and architects involved. If you are interested in community space and design this will be a great opportunity to get Involved!

    We live on the Gower which is known as an area of outstanding natural beauty, we love nature and we love the beaches and we go for daily walks, trips to get coffee at Three Cliffs, dip's in the sea (in my case) or fires by the beach. There are two kind of experiences which you will be involved in, one is helping my grandmother and providing companionship and experiencing a slow and relaxed pace in beautiful rural Wales. The other is a creative and active opportunity to be involved in my artwork. Another upcoming project will be weaving raw wool to create interventions in the Welsh landscape, it is about community, environmental and farming awareness, Welsh heritage and memory.

    You will be submerged in an environment which is very creative, I have worked with my grandmother on an alternative perspective to dementia for over two years and my graduate project from 2020- studying Design at Goldsmiths University, was on this topic. So If you're interested in social care, creative intervention and the visual art's, I'm sure we will have fun together! However if your more interested in a relaxed experience, gardening, cooking, chatting to my gran, that is fine as well.

    There are castles to explore, beaches to surf, adorable coffee shops to visit and local farm shops with delicious vegetables, we live 10 minutes away from the ocean by car, 25 min's walk, and live on the top of a beautiful valley looking down on a historic church that has been around since the 6th Century and a little river. We have a big balcony that looks over the Valley, where we often have lunch together.

    My grandmother is not vegetarian, however I am, so you must be able to cook vegetarian food, and what we do is we might add meat as a side or tofu as the side, for example. We are real Foodies, I love to make healthy, nutritious, and whenever possible -locally sourced and organic food. We do not eat junk food but love chocolate and my gran loves shortbread, I want to learn some more baking skills so I would love someone to teach me!

    I speak Canarian Spanish and your welcome to practice with me! :) My gran speaks only English so you must have a basic grasp of English, I can help you improve your English as I have worked as a teacher too.

    Key points:
    - You must be a calm and tidy person
    - non-smoking household
    - you must be happy to sit with an elderly person for a time without getting bored, this means chatting, drawing and being active, or going for a walk together etc.
    - You must like organising and making things beautiful!
    *We do a 1 week trial and then we want at least 3 weeks extra stay to not change people too many times, for my grandmas sake.
    *We can not host more than 1 person atm, but it's a double bed so we can discuss a possibility if you share a space, and not young children. It would be ideal for 1 person to have a bit more room. Just give it a thought :)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will be welcomed into our joyfull family, we love to laugh and we have vibrant network of friends who visit and I am the 'hairy godmother' of a cocker spaniel puppy called Cadi, who also frequently visits us. You will get to know people within the Gower community, we often go out and sing together in caves or at the beach or do BBQ's in the garden. Gower is one of the UK'S top holiday destinations, so this is a chance for you to explore the Gower which is beautiful all year round.

  • Ayuda


    The first task that needs to be done is clearing out the house/garage, we need to declutter, make it dementia friendly and help fundraise for La Palma. We are offering food and accommodation for 4-5 hours help a day (we do this job based rather than strictly timed, you may work an hour, have a rest then comeback etc. It's very flexible) and we will discuss your free days as Monday I have my gran and we go on a road trip normally, so that is a day off for everyone as it's a chance for you to Explore Wales with us, then you can choose another day to have off for your own adventures.
    A car is handy but there are local buses and a supermarket 5mins walk away and farmers market Fri,Sat. There is a double room which you can stay in, it needs some tlc but is beautiful with a skylight for star gazing.

    We will do a week's trial, and if it goes well, then I would prefer a longer term stay 2-3 months, due to practicalities of familiarity for the sake of my grandmother. I am open to discussing shorter stays with a 4 weeks min.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    You are welcome to practice your spanish, my family run a retreat center in the Canary Islands, so I grew up there from the age of 12. My gran only speaks english so you must have a basic level and we can practice that too, I have worked as an english teacher aswell.

  • Alojamiento


    A lovely attic room! My bedroom and my sisters are also upstairs, so that floor is our space away from the grandmutter , her room is on the ground floor and she doesn't go upstairs, so it's a quiet, relaxing space away from the main floor and busyness of the daily house!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Everything the Gower and Wales has to offer. We have a big beach culture, Swansea is a sea-side town, and also plenty of historic places and pubs to explore. Now that things are opening up there is also a great music scene in Swansea, our local town, and further afield great places in Cardiff, Bristol and London, which are all on a direct train lines that start from Swansea. I'm often going to events like cacao or ecstatic dance, art workshops, ceremonies etc. and you are welcome to join my adventures

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I really encourage people to have their own projects and work, I work online as well as in person and have a studio-space downstairs for creative work. It is quiet, looking out at the garden and a great working environment.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    A car will fit on our driveway and there is a parking space where the village tends to park larger vans 1 min walk up the road.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    I can but it will depend on the pet, my gran has dementia and may leave doors open, so if it's a cat it would not work, if it's a small cage animal or a dog, we can discuss making the house pet friendly. We have had hamsters and dogs here before.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 168655485155