Idiomas, jardinería y más en un hermoso pueblo de Wiltshire

Country

Gran Bretaña

200 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    27  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    04/12/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    145

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Update: Currently ONLY looking for a fluent Welsh speaker for conversation practice. Happy to take you out places locally if you can just chat with me in Welsh. :)
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Val is a retired English Language teacher. Andy (Mac) works part-time running his own engineering consultancy.

    We are both into traditional folk music and Mac plays in a couple of local bands. We eat vegetarian or fish-based meals, but there is cold cooked meat and bacon available in the fridge for lunches.

    When we were young we travelled a lot and lived in shared houses for many years and now that we are in our 60s, with our children grown up and left home, we miss the company of other like-minded people. We love spending holidays on the Continent in our camper van and are both passionately anti-Brexit!

    We have just about finished re-taming the garden after spending a year away living in a co-housing commmunity, and are looking to grow a modest amount of organic vegetables this year and to revive/ re-stock fruit and ornamental beds. We would love to have people to help us with that and with giving the house a spring clean

    We would prefer people over the age of 27, as that dynamic seems to work best for us. And definitely non-smokers, please.

    We also have 2 elderly cats who love to sit on laps. - And who shed a fair amount of hair on your clothes! - But they are absolutely gorgeous!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We like to treat our guests as part of the family and to include them in our daily lives as much as possible, including taking them to events on locally during their stay. We can also help them arrange day trips to places of interest nearby.
    Our village is fairly active socially and has pop-up pubs and other events in the village hall and social club.

    Val is an ex-English language teacher and is happy to help with improving written as well as spoken English.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Update: Currently ONLY looking for a fluent Welsh language speaker for conversation - Sorry!
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    We have a largish garden (about a third of an acre), mostly organic, including 14 small vegetable beds. We're currently preparing beds, sowing seeds, putting in plants and generally tidying up the the garden, 3 sheds and garage.

    We would like you to contribute 4 hours a day (with coffee break) in the garden, 5 days a week and we can provide a variety of tasks for you to choose from, according to your skill / energy levels, but most will require some previous gardening experience.

    You DEFINITELY need to have experience of digging and weeding (heavy clay soil) . Please bring appropriate footwear and clothes.

    We would also appreciate help with making meals, clearing away after dinner and keeping your own room and shower room clean.

    If you are a native speaker of French or Spanish, then it would be great to have some conversation practice down the pub one evening as part of your working hours instead!

    We generally find 2 weeks is a good length of time for Workawayers to stay here.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Francés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Español: Intermedio
    Welsh: Principiante
    Italiano: Principiante
    Ruso: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The house is a 1950s chalet bungalow on the edge of a quiet village (pop c.200), with views across fields to the woods. Currently we have a small double guest bedroom and a large single, each with an available shower room (not ensuite); a large kitchen/diner; a small lounge with digital tv (Netflicks and Amazon Prime); a yoga/music room; and wi-fi (c. 300 Mbs download) Non-smokers only please.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live in a small village with a train station (mostly hourly trains in both directions) about 10 miles from Salisbury and the New Forest with lots of possibilities for walks and some good pubs in neighbouring villages. - But almost no formal facilities in the village, apart from a social club and the village hall where the villagers organise fairly frequent events and pop-up pubs themselves.

    You would definitely need to have money for trains etc.- Public transport is generally expensive in Britain. See the National Rail website for times and prices – Our station is called Dean (DEN).

    By train, you could have days out in Salisbury (£4.70), Southampton (£6.50), Winchester (£11.70), Bath (£21.80), Bristol (£32.40), Bournemouth (£18.10), London (£43.80), Portsmouth (£12.30). - Prices sourced Feb 2019.
    You could also visit Stonehenge (£17.50 entrance) or get to the Isle of Wight from Southampton with Red Funnel Ferries:

    There are inter-city coaches from Salisbury and Southampton which are cheaper than trains, but which take longer
    Local buses are very slow but the day rover ticket for Wiltshire is good value at £8.50:

    Use Traveline to plan public transport journeys:

    And we're very happy to take you out to pubs, music sessions, village events with us and to other places locally (sculpture park, small historic chapel, local National Trust village etc).

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 hours a day for 5 days a week, digging, weeding, sowing, tidying, painting



















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 16411417494d