Wesley

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I'm originally from Ontario, but have fallen in love with BC, where I am planning on doing part time Wildland Firefighting this summer before attending University in the Fall.

    I love playing guitar, jiu jitsu, surfing, snowboarding, hiking, camping, and pretty much anything outdoors and active . I am a big fan of water and mountains.

    I am very interested in having new experiences, but also learning new skills. I would be happy to work more than the required hours in exchange for learning, or at least an introduction, to a new skill.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Fitness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Carpentry
    Animals
    Architecture
    Music
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    When I was 9 years old my parents bought a 40 acre hay field with the goal of turning it into a hobby farm, where we currently live. Needless to say, there was a tremendous amount of work involved in turning a field into a home and farm. Being homeschooled, my parents involved me with every aspect of the process, from building the house, to planting thousands of trees, building sheds, chicken coops, and fences. On top of the experience of building the farm, there was also the day to day chores and farm activities, such as caring for chickens and horses, tractor work, beekeeping, fence maintenance, gardening, etc.

    I have basic carpentry experience. I have built a number of projects on my own such as a ukulele, a bow, a picnic table , and am currently framing and finishing a bedroom in our basement with my brother.

    I have worked a number of jobs, including construction/landscaping, snow removal, farm work, and moving. I have a number of reference letters from employers that I am happy to provide. I also owned and operated a micro greens business for two years before selling it in 2019.

    I have worked at 7 workaways doing a wide variety of work, such as animal care, carpentry, renovations, gardening, landscaping, wood splitting, and general maintenance. I don't mind hard work and love a challenge.

    I love music and have experience teaching guitar

    I have occupational first aid level 3 certification

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    19

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback