Wei-Huan

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi! I'm Wei, pronounced like "way," I'm from the U.S. and I recently quit my job and now am traveling the world in search of deeper meaning. I am a writer, musician, poet, dog walker, and avid gardener!

    I have a PDC (permaculture design certificate) and have experience working not only on a farm but also as a home chef, child care, dog sitter and English teacher. :) I also speak intermediate Spanish.

    I was a journalist for 10 years, but have now embarked on a journey toward sustainable living: including natural farming, permaculture, meditation, community building and radical empathy!

    I love to forage for edible mushrooms and other wild veggies, play music, COOK, and grow my own food.

    What brings me happiness? Meeting new friends, and working together to build a new, better way of life!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Outdoor activities
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Writing
    Books
    Music
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Self development
    Events & social
    Plant care
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    As a professional writer and teacher/lecturer I am an experience English teacher for all levels. I would love to improve my Spanish and be able to communicate with local people better. Beyond tutoring English as a second language, I can help advanced professional English for those already fluent -- such as writing applications, press releases, personal/organizational statements, and cover letters. Also public speaking.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    General Maintenance

    Able to teach about:  

    Languages
    Teaching
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I have experience in organic/natural small-scale farming in my home garden. This involves growing plants from seed, creating compost, growing ground cover to serve as natural mulch/green manure, pruning, digging, checking for and treating pests (usually just hand picking or use natural deterrents that have no impact on other insects especially pest predators).

    I was a journalist at a top 5 American daily newspaper and won 14 writing awards over 10 years and have managed interns and students. Thus I often help people write/edit grants, applications, cover letters, etc. I am turning this service into a business but am happy to donate these services in return for some rest from physical labor. In other words I can help your organization write/edit press releases, website pages, applications for funding, help with resumes in English.

    I am an avid hiker/forager and do a lot of hauling in the garden, and am experienced with sweating in humid summer weather, in other words I am in good shape for farm/outdoor work.

    I have cooked for most of my life and can learn any cuisine, but am excellent with Chinese/Taiwanese, Mexican, vegetarian Indian non-veg Indian and American vegetarian cuisine.

    I have walked dogs professionally and can handle all but the most difficult dogs in all their needs. :)

    I am an experienced mushroom forager and can safely identify (and cook) edible fungi including morel, hedgehog, chanterelle, etc. but am a quick learner in new climate zones.

  • Age

    32

  • What else ...

    Right now I am reading "One Straw Revolution" by Masanobu Fukuoka and would love to one day visit that farm.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Friends

Feedback

This Workwayer has not received any feedback yet.