Sarah

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (4)

Explorer
Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    Activities i am interested in:

    I love learning about natural history (birds/birdwatching, plants, fungi, animals) and about sustainable living. I also love adventure sports, hiking, and yoga. I am also a big fan of board games!

  • Description

    HI! I’m Sarah and I am a 29 year-old originally from Northern California, currently living and working on a farm in Santa Cruz. I am an experienced traveler and I have been doing work-trades around the world for ten years now, on and off. A little about me: I am a lover of nature, art and animals. I am passionate about sustainability and I'm hoping to learn more about sustainable living from others. I look forward to having adventures and making genuine connections with others on my journey!

    Current obsessions during the pandemic have included birdwatching and board games

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    LGBTQ
    Politics / Social justice

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have been a natural history interpreter for the past few years, teaching adults and children about botany, ornithology, mycology, and ecology. I am not technically a "scientist" though, I actually studied the arts- I love getting involved with any sort of creative or artistic project, and I'm pretty adept with words and cameras. I love cooking healthy food (and unhealthy dessert), gardening, and adventure sports... basically being outside is always a pleasure. I love people of ALL kinds, and I love kids, especially if I can take them on nature adventures. As for animals, spending time with them is my very favorite thing... I have volunteered in animal shelters and on farms, and am very comfortable with both feral and socialized animals, including administering medication and care.

    Additionally, I'm a raft guide and a kayak guide, and a certified yoga teacher. :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Indonesian: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Would love to learn Spanish! Happy to teach English or what I can of Bahasa Indonesia

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    My philosophy is that the most important challenge we can overcome as humans in this time is combating climate change. In order to fight the climate crisis, I believe we need to heal our relationships to ourselves and our bodies, not to mention to our planet and the other living beings here. If this resonates with you, I would love to discuss and learn more!

    Also I do not support Donald Trump or his policies. Just so you know.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian (except local/ethical fish or chicken)

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback