Victoria

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    04/08/2019 - 12/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello!

    I'm an environmentalist who has lived all around the east coast of the United States. I am soon moving to California for graduate school where I'll explore the relationship between changing urban landscapes and heat. I love to learn, explore, and challenge myself.

    This summer I'll be traveling through France for about five weeks, starting at Tour du Mont Blanc, and hopefully finishing with a rewarding Workaway on the western coast of the country. I'm excited to see the diverse landscapes France has to offer, as well as learn more of the language, explore museums, and become immersed in French culture!

    In my free time, I love to cook, read, knit and do other crafts, hike, dance, and learn new (admittedly nerdy) things!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have worked extensively on tree care and maintenance in several urban areas, so I am adept at weeding, invasive species removal, watering, planting, and other gardening basics.

    I am very handy with crafts - experience with metal soldering, linocut printmaking, knitting, candle making, and more.

    I have some basic culinary skills learnt from my parents (who both used to be chefs) - though I have been vegetarian on and off for the past decade, so not particularly skilled with meat! Can absolutely nail a recipe if given one!

    I also have some fundamental computer skills, including experience with all of Microsoft Office, Adobe InDesign, Squarespace and Wordpress web design, and R statistical programming software.

    Other skills:
    - babysitting (6 mo - 5 yrs)
    - activities with elders (volunteered at nursing home)
    - event planning (main component of my previous job!)
    - tutoring English language learners in writing

  • Languages spoken

    English, conversant Spanish, very basic French

  • Age

    26

  • What else ...

    Some other things I enjoy:
    - learning about healthcare ethics
    - debating the value and dangers of technology
    - jogging
    - eating cheese

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Cats! But not so badly that I can't be near them.

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback