Scheduled server update :) The site will be offline for an estimated 60 minutes starting at 11:00 h CET / 17:00 h HKT (current server time: 10:16 CET). Thanks for your patience.   close ×

Thomas

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Mexico, United States

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am on a road-trip traveling North America that started in Pennsylvania in October of 2019. I am interested in a few different kinds of work-away opportunities. First, I am personally looking for a different way of life for myself that involves intentional living in communities with a spiritual or personal growth focus. So I am always open to those kinds of opportunities. Second, I appreciate any opportunity to learn new skills that could lead me to find out what I could do next for money. Third, I am always looking for adventure.

    Wherever I go, I hope to contribute meaningfully and be constantly learning and growing as a person.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping around the house
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I have a pretty broad range of competency. One of the easiest ways for me to contribute right away is through manual labor, small construction projects/general maintenance, cleaning, organizing, housekeeping, and cooking. I'm very clean and organized myself and always enjoy helping in that way. I don't have any specific training when it comes to skills involved with general maintenance and small projects, but sometimes I enjoy these projects the most because it requires me to expand my competencies. I never shy away from taking on a project where I can learn what to do from watching a Youtube video. For example, this past summer I replaced the timing belt on my car, which is something I never had attempted before. I also have good computer competency where that is needed. I also am personable and hospitable, so I can help with workaway opportunities that deal with tourists and the public. Finally, I don't mind some manual labor either. In fact, sometimes it feels like what my body wants! In general, I have a lot of confidence that I can contribute meaningfully in most situations just because I am a hard-worker, reasonably intelligent, agreeable, and apply myself with a can-do attitude.

    UPDATE 6/2020: I have now down three workaways, and one work-trade at a hostel (not through workaway). I found living and working at a hostel and being engaged in hospitality to be really satisfying. I have also done a fair amount of working on maintenance and building projects such as sanding, staining, and painting, and assisting with construction projects. I have enjoyed it all and hope to continue to find opportunities where I can be useful but also learn.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent

  • Age

    38

  • Nationality

    USA, CANADA, EU

  • What else ...

    I have American, Canadian, and EU citizenship.

    I like burns and burning man, so always enjoy meeting burners. I have a master's degree in philosophy. I once volunteered three months at a Tibetan buddhist monastery in southern France working on a construction site. On this trip I really enjoyed three months that I spent in Asheville doing a work-trade at a hostel downtown.
    I don't have any particular arrival or departure dates usually. I am looking to get the most of out every experience.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am lactose intolerant.

Photos

Feedback