Lucy & Charlie

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Mexico, New Zealand, Samoa, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Vanuatu

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/11/2018 - 01/07/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Lucy- A free spirited, open minded, chilled, happy soul with positive spiritual and cultural values... I am positive, friendly, caring, creative, adaptable, imaginative, have a good ability to relate to people and new situations.

    I have travelled to Brazil, Uraguay, Paraguay, Argentina, Australia, Europe, Israel, Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, Sri Lanka, India, Nepal, Vietnam, and Hong Kong to name a few! and have worked and volunteered in these coutries also.

    I volunteered from a young age in different Youth and Community settings which led me to do a degree in Youth and Community Work, and have worked as a Youth and Community worker for nearly 10 years in lots of different settings, and have done lots of charity work on a local/ national and international level. I have a strong passion for working in this area, and hope to continue this work while travelling. I have worked in different settings commununity, centre based,detached and outreach.
    I have worked on a one to one basis, group work, participation, development, healthcare settings.

    I have lots of experience working in Sexual and reproductive health in community and healthcare settings, qualified in Phlebotomy working as a Nursing Assistant and a Youth Worker with the NHS in the UK, taking venous blood samples for HIV testing, health promotion, and support, and also on the international board of directors for Restless development an international youth led development agency of social change.

    Worked on Organic farms in Australia WWOOFING growing, planting, irrigation, food markets and general daily farm duties.

    Qualified in Holistic Therapies: Swedish Body Massage, Aromatheraphy,and Indian Head Massage. Haven't been practicing for a couple of years, but would be interested in learning some new skills and interested in Ayurveda, yoga and holistic therapies.
    I love travelling, meeting new people, photography, food, cooking, culture, reading, learning new things, different sights, chats, cups of tea, conversations, music, ceremonies, rituals, sunsets, yoga, nature, experiences, new ideas, being inspired....

    I believe in giving something back, and ,making a positive impact... always learning new things, making friends, meeting people, having fun, seeking out interesting opportunities, really getting to know people, extending time, learning experiences, insights.
    I believe this can be done in everyday life, and love travelling as I feel I gain so much, and enjoy the freedom and amazing things I've seen and done.

    I enjoy meeting people who are open minded, friendly , creative, interesting, optimistic, good values, enjoy sharing, happy, outgoing, fun to be around.... I believe everybody has something to teach, share, and exchange.

    Charlie- I have always loved to travel and have always been interested in using my creative mind to alleviate the monotony of life. Love catching up with old friends and meeting new people.

    Im an artist from school, love painting and drawing. Ive been a carpenter for 4 years and was in graphic design for two years from school.. working in an office which didn't work for me but it was creative at least!

    Now I have been travelling for four years being a bamboo tattooist. A lovely trade! I get to draw and create and make people happy. I get to travel and work and not have to return home to recharge funds... which has always been my dream from setting out travelling for the first time 12 years ago.

    I have been on the road bamboo tattooing for over four years now. Working in studios and freelance. In Thailand, Myanmar, Malaysia, HK, Australia, Holland, Belgium, France and the UK, and India all being my own boss!

    Im looking forward to finding some help exchange work. I would love to be asked to paint a wall with my own design or design a menu for a restaurant... using Photoshop or a paintbrush! I can put my head to building and carpentry, love being in the kitchen and am always up for learning something new, sharing ideas, being part of a team and teaching what I know. Im really up for helping out any way possible.

    Like I said I'm a bamboo tattooist too and always have my kit with me!


    In 2014 we travelled around India for four months where we volunteered in a Yoga resort working in a health conscious cafe, Charlie offered Bamboo Tattooing and Lucy did Holistic Therapies for guests at the resort .

    We travelled Nepal for one month, where we trekked the Himalayas for 16 days, The Annapurna circuit completing 230km and reaching 5416m altitude and crossing the worlds highest mountain pass. This was one of our highlights of 2014, alongside the physical and mental challenge, it felt such an achievement to complete the trek.

    We then lived in Hong Kong for six months. Lucy completed a teaching English as a foreign language (TEFL) qualification and worked at a language school teaching young people aged 11 and under teaching a Fix it phonics, Kids Box, Tiger playgroup, Penguin parent and toddler, koala babies and parents language based courses. This involved class preparation, designing courses, and making resources including writing, listening and reading exercises and also art materials.
    Charlie offered handmade Bamboo tattoos and also attended Hong Kong Tattoo convention.


    This was the year of the Americas- We spent 9 months in Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Bolivia, Peru, Ecuador, Colombia and then onwards to Central America- Panama, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, and then North America- San Francisco and finished with Burning Man Festival !


    In 2016 we went to the UK, and spent one year here, and headed to Canada and have been here until now.


    Whilst been in Canada Lucy has managed an Organic Restaurant, worked as a receptionist in a Yoga studio, and as a Youth Worker at a Harm Reduction Shelter, working with youth aged 16-24 years. Charlie has been doing his Art, Murals and Tattoo freelance and at Studios between Montreal and Toronto. We would like to see more of Canada especially outside of cities, which has been difficult whilst working.

    We plan to travel to Hawaii, Japan, Indonesia, Fiji and New Zealand this year. Travelling with purpose. To learn, develop, be inspired and be educated. Whilst offering our own skills and services along the way. We look forward to hard work and good times.

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Social Media Skills, Photography, Management, Youth and Community Degree, Cooking, Art, Bamboo tattoo, Carpentry, Construction, Painting, Creative, Self starter, Communication, Massage Therapy, Hospitality, Management, Gardening and Horticulture, Graphic Design, Photoshop and print, Nutrition, healthy living and physical education.

  • Languages spoken

    English, learning Spanish

  • Age

    33 & 37

  • Nationality


  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements