Suzi

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    **I currently live in London, but the lease on my flat is up in March, and I am looking to leave the city and help out on a farmstay, house, community or similar, with cooking, outdoor work, gardening, or childcare, among other things. I will leave my job when I leave the city, but will still be working on my online publication and writing for myself. I am looking for either a few month-long projects, or 1 or 2 projects for 2 months.

    I quit my job in digital advertising in May 2018 and set out to travel for an indeterminate amount of time, to meet people, explore the world and create new experiences for myself. I am also exploring the many different ways one can live a good life, outside of the competitive and corporate landscape of New York City that I grew up with and came into.

    Over the summer of 2018, I traveled through parts of Europe, from Portugal and Spain to Croatia and Montenegro, as well as volunteering at two different hostels in Albania. I then traveled to Mexico for 2 months where I met amazing people, ate delicious meals and saw beautiful things, from the cities to the mountains to the beach. I worked at a hostel in Puerto Escondido for a month, and by November 2018 I was volunteering at a hostel on Lake Atitlan, Guatemala, where I would soon become one of the managers, and where I would stay for almost 7 months.

    I moved to London in July 2019, where I started working in hospitality, at both a restaurant and a pub. Currently, I am an account manager at an ad tech company, working part-time while I pursue writing on the side. It is now time for me to find a new adventure, and follow deeper passions in this next phase.

    I am vegan and am very interested in spreading plant-based knowledge for health, environmental, and animal welfare reasons. I also love to cook for myself and others, so I experiment with a variety of different dishes and would love to do more of this. I love animals and would really enjoy taking care of them and spending more time around them in my everyday life. I have also learned that I feel much more whole in nature, near water or mountains, or just away from the business of city life, so I am looking to join a community or family with these similar ideals, who can show me a more connected way of life.

    I am a reader, writer and runner, and I appreciate quiet time but I thrive on meeting new people and I love to work and play outside. I am happy on a team or in an individual setting, and I love to learn.

    I feel very lucky to be able to travel, and I can't wait to see what else the world has in store for me.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Writing
    Books
    Blogging
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture
    History

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Blogging, writing articles, website content, social media copy, through various blogs and my website, theoddtopic.com.

    My background is in digital media so I am very comfortable with computers, excel sheets, and a variety of management/advertising platforms.

    Cooking, bar-tending, management, creative writing, basic accounting.

    I have some experience babysitting and tutoring.
    Light gardening, but eager to get my hands dirty.
    I am very adaptable and have strong people skills.
    I would love to develop different skills outdoors/in nature, with animals, on farms and involving more manual labor.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    English is my native language but I am also proficient in Spanish. I would love to improve my conversational Spanish skills, but I am strong enough to tutor beginner Spanish. I have strong writing skills, so could also help with English.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    29

  • What else ...

    I am a fast learner, have a positive attitude and can be flexible with different needs. My ideal situation is to get to know a family or community well and help out in a variety of ways. I love to cook, eat and entertain, and I have a desire to use my hands / body / physical strength to work in a garden, on a farm, in a vineyard, etc.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      mold, mildew

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegan

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback