Sid

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello There.
    My name is Sid, I'm 55 and from the UK.

    It's been nearly 3 years since my initial Workaway adventure and am feeling the nomadic itch to be off on my travels once more. In 2018, I stayed with 3 Workaway hosts; one in Australia and two back here in the UK. The work encompassed property renovation and gardening.

    About Me...
    I'm a single chap and in my heyday was a working musician. Having left music behind for the last few years, I have been working in construction and have also just completed renovating an old property I'd bought. It took two years to complete (I was working full-time as well) and needed everything doing to it. But I did get it for a snip, so the workload was expected.

    I love animals (having had dogs and grew up on a farm) and am a vegan. However, I am not a militant vegan and not such a hypocrite as to criticize others for their dietary decisions. I ate animal products right up into my mid-forties! In fact people have known me for years and never knew I was vegan, so please don't worry. I don't preach!!

    I am a spiritually minded chap (not religious), have four excellent grown-up children and two granddaughters. I am a good cook and have a full driving licence (both car and motorcycle). I have worked as a musician, teacher, chef, gardener and builder and don't particularly mind what type of work you, my host, require.

    I am a young 55 yr old. I love to travel, meet new people and relish the opportunities for adventure.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    General Maintenance
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Apart from what's mentioned above:
    *️️️️️️Experience with a chainsaw and hedge-trimmer.
    *️️️️️️General building skills.
    *️️️️️️Good animal care skills having grown up on a farm and having pets all my life.
    *️️️️️️Good with children having been a music teacher at an International secondary school and through running my own Rockschool (teaching both adults and children).
    *In my younger days I have worked in professional kitchens, mainly as a prep-chef.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    55

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback