Sam

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Uruguay

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2009 - 10/09/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    202

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Facebook verified
    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Each time I have to answer this question I get stymied. I am instantly reminded of the pirandelian “Uno, nessuno e centomila” ☺️ I like simple things and those who are intelligent enough to recognize them. I like working outdoors and building stuff. My friends and neighbors nicknamed me “Macgyver”. From my perspective there are no problems just solutions waiting to be discovered. Camping and fishing are by far my most enjoyable activities.

    Camping takes me out of my familiar surroundings albeit just for a while and makes me look for solutions outside the box. Fishing, well that’s just patience and Zen no matter what comes up. I speak fluent English, French, Italian and Spanish. I have a PhD and two Master’s degrees. I taught at a Montreal University for a while, up until I decided to change careers got my Permaculture design certification and embraced all things Permaculture and community sustainable development.

    I am also a self-taught carpenter, plumber and I enjoy making my own grappa, vodka and other spirits. I love having my hands dirty on a cob house build site, it's up there with Zen fishing. I enjoy cooking and I find great pleasure in "reinventing" recipes, as I consider cooking an art form; so why copy the Mona Lisa when you can make your own?

    I am often on the lookout for new challenges and people that can help me grow as a human being and allow me to make a difference. Any day I can bring a smile on someone’s face is a glorious day for me.

    So much other stuff but that’s part of the “centomila” or the “nessuno” as you wish ☺️.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Permaculture design, eco building, carpentry, masonry, plumbing, cob building, compost toilets, cob rocket mass heaters, rocket stoves, Internet & websites, Graphic Design (Photoshop), cooking, distilling, beer and wine making.

  • Languages spoken

    English, French, Italian, spanish, Berber

  • Age

    58

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    Eco building is what I most enjoy. Helping achieve sustainablity is what brings me the most joy.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      none

Photos

Feedback