Ruth & Liam

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Italy, Spain, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/06/2019 - 31/01/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    We are a couple from England who are travelling the world for a year on foot and bicycle! Starting in Nepal in April and May then moving on to Europe in June. We want to stay with locals as much as possible to really explore places, and hope to learn some new skills and share our own along the way. If we can do a little good, make some new friends and have an adventure along the way, we will be happy!

    Liam is a 27 year old Architect, who has done lots of volunteering around the world including Thailand, Malaysia, Berlin and Cambodia. He enjoys helping with building, decorating, construction, gardening, digging, but will have a go at anything! He is also very tech savvy, is a keen photographer and can edit videos and photos.

    Liam has previously used Help Exchange as a platform for volunteering and if you require a link to this for references, please ask!

    Ruth is a 33 year old mental health support worker, who will be training to be a mental health nurse when the travels are over! She has also volunteered a lot in New Zealand and in the UK, mainly with things like text writing and editing, presentations and teaching. She is happy to help with anything, and has volunteered for a week doing conservation work in New Zealand National Parks. Always keen to learn more!

    Ruth is happy to provide references if you require, but currently she has none on workaway and helpex as all her volunteering has been informally arranged.

    Liam and Ruth both love walking, hiking, cycling, camping, being active, working hard and learning new skills. We also love reading and socialising.

    We look forward to having lots of new experiences using workaway!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Liam has skills including construction, digging, decorating, photography, IT, video and photo editing, cooking, people skills and is a very fast learner!

    Ruth has skills including writing, editing, decorating, teaching, looking after horses and animals, cooking, cleaning, gardening, and is willing to help out with anything!

  • Languages spoken

    English and a tiny bit of French! Willing to learn.

  • Age

    33 & 28

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    We are keen outdoor enthusiasts and have lots of energy to help out with any project - whether that be a simple repair or new innovation. We have lots of ideas and are good at problem solving. Ruth is good at project management! Liam has an architecture degree and Ruth has a Doctorate in Social Policy, her research looked at a form of exchange without using money. We are keen to share ideas and stories with new people.

    We love playing board games, drawing, reading and writing.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Nope!

Photos

Feedback