Rachel

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    ENGLISH:

    Hello, my name is Rachel. I grew up in France and I have been living in the United States for 20 years. I have dual citizenship (American and French). I am bilingual in French and English and I also speak Spanish (intermediate) and a little bit of German. I am looking to relocate in a different part of the world but I am not sure where yet. So I am excited to volunteer with Workaway and work with other like minded people as a good way to experience other cultures.

    I have many years of professional experience developing and managing cultural programs. I worked in tourism, museum education, in the performing arts, in arts and healthcare as an editor for an online journal, and as a French language teacher for an Alliance Française. Because I love sharing experiences with others, I create and lead tours each year to France, my native country.

    I am a multifaceted person with various interests. I am curious, easy-going, honest and compassionate and have a good sense of humor. I have an adventurous spirit and I love to try new things, learn new skills, and discover new cultures, and meet all kinds of people. I am interested in learning about permaculture, gardening, sustainable living, eco-tourism, and more.. I enjoy backpacking, camping, and hiking. I practice yoga and meditation. The arts are also an important part of my life and one of my hobbies is making potteries.

    ESPANOL:
    Hola me llamo Rachel. Hace 20 años que vivo en los Estados Unidos. Naci y creci en Francia. Tengo 2 nacionalidades (americana y francesa). Soy bilingüe. Hablo francés e inglés con fluidez. Hablo español (soy intermedia) y un poquitito de alemán. Quisiera mudarme y partir de los Estados Unidos pero todavía no sé dónde. Entonces, quiero hacer un voluntariado con Workaway porque sería una buena manera de cambiar de vida, vivir otras experiencias y viaja y trabajar con otras personas de ideas afines como una buena manera de experimentar otras culturas.

    Mi experiencia profesional es muy variada. Trabajé en turismo, en educación y fui editora de un periódico (online). Ahora enseno francés en la Alianza Francesa en Chicago, USA y organicé un tur cultural cada ano a mi país, Francia porque me gusta compartir mi cultura con otros. Me gustan los artes en general. Hago cerámica y estudié la historia del arte. Trabajé en un museo del arte y dirigí programas culturales.

    Tengo un buen sentido del humor. Soy curiosa y tengo alma de aventurera. Me gusta probar cosas nuevas, descubrir diferentes culturas, y encontrar a varias personas. Tengo curiosidad en aprender cosas nuevas como la jardinería, la agricultura orgánica, permacultura, y eco turismo y más. Hago yoga y medicación. Me encanta caminar en la naturaleza, mochilear, y acampar también.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design
    Photography
    Blogging
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Teaching languages (French and English), leading tours, customer service, event planning, doing research, writing, and editing. I also have excellent communication and organizational skills.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    I am interested in learning Spanish. I am also interested in teaching French

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    55

  • What else ...

    I love meeting people from all walks of life, sharing experiences and ideas. I'm easy going and get along with most people.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No. I eat everything

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback