Rachel

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    19/10/2019 - 22/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Rachel and I am from Vancouver, Canada. I have just graduated from my Bachelor's degree in Life Sciences. I have tree planted every summer for the past 4 years in Northern Canada and absolutely love working outdoors with other people! Tree planting is a physically demanding piece-labour job that requires one to push themselves every day. I absolutely love the challenge that working outdoors in all conditions brings and I am sure these skills will translate well to workaway. I am a very social person who loves to meet new people. I am task-oriented and a quick learner. I am currently in Mombasa, Kenya doing research on HIV in high risk groups, but will be on the west coast of South America October-January. Can't wait for my next adventure!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have tree planted for 4 summers in Northern Canada. Tree planting is considered one of Canada's most physically demanding jobs, requiring one to carry 50lbs on their hips, and planting between 1500-4000 trees a day. We work 9-12 hours a day and sleep in tents. I have excelled in this job because I love a challenge and pushing myself harder each and every day. I also love the people I meet every year. As there is no service or wifi, the friendships made are special.
    I also worked in a hostel in Lisbon, Portugal for 1 month last year. My duties included reception, cleaning, cooking guests breakfast, giving travel advice, among other duties. I loved my time there, and met many interesting people from all over the world.
    I am a native English speaker, competent in French and learning Spanish!

  • Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish

  • Age

    22

  • What else ...

    I am an avid hiker and rock climber, and am hoping to learn to surf while in South America!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Tree planting in Northern BC, Canada!

Feedback