Erik & Rabea

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Germany, Kenya

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/11/2020 - 31/05/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling


    We are in Kenya at the moment. Getting to knowthe country, it's culture and the beautiful neature.

  • Description

    We are Rabea and Erik, an open minded, active and social couple from Germany. Both of us love to travel and see the world. This has probably started when we both did an exchange year during high school. The exchange organization is also the reason we got to know each other. We met while voluneetring for student seminars some years ago.

    Erik just finished his PdD in Engineering and Rabea was working as a subsitute teacher in an elementary school until now. Therefore we want to use the opportunity that we are both still flexible before we commit to long term jobs. The original plan was to travel the world for about a year.
    With the current Corona situations this seems like bad timing, but as this oportunity will not present itself that quickly again, we wanted to try to still see a little.
    Therefore we decided that workaway seems like a great way to get to know a country and its people, even with the current situation, as it will allow us to stay in one place for a longer time.

    We both have lived abroad various times and are therefore used to adapting to different cultures and places. Erik studied a year in Mexico and a semester in Poland. Rabea did an internships in Norway, Finnland and Costa Rica.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Carpentry
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Drawing & painting
    Books
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    Self development
    Events & social
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Between the two of us we combine many usefull skills.

    Rabea has studied primary school education and is therefore well trained in teaching and working with children. She enjoys arts and crafts and gardening. Even though we currently live in the city, our living room and the balcony are exeptionally green and we even manage to grow some herbs and vegetables here.

    Erik has studied civil engineering, therefore has lots of theoretical knowledge about stuctures and buildings. More improtantly he has practical experience as well. Ever since he was a child, he helped his dad in this workshop, mainly with woodworking.

    Both of us are good cooks (but Rabea is definitly the better one). We would love to get to know new cuisine and would be happy to share our own recepies.

    We have both learnd additional languages in school and have practiced more during our stays abroad and other travels. We would love to learn new languages and are more then willing to share and practice languages with our hosts.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Afrikaans: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Dutch: Intermediate
    Norwegian: Beginner
    Polish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    30 & 32

  • What else ...

    All in all we would describe ourself as flexible, interested and easy going people.
    In general we both love to discover new things and people and enjoy spending time in nature.
    From hiking in the mountains to surfing or diving in the ocean, we love to be outside.
    Erik has worked a year in a natural park. Ever since then, he is a keen birdwatcher and will be bringing his bincocular everywhere.
    Rabea pactices yoga, if possible within a group.
    She taught herself to play the guitar and is in her element singing and playing at a bonfire.
    However we are also happy in a cozy place with a book or passing the time with board games and friends. We will definitely bring some books and a deck of cards.

    For additional information here are some links to other social sites:
    Rabea Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rabea.schwarz.71
    Erik Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/erik.tamsen
    Erik Couchsurfing: https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/erik.tamsen

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      not that we know of...

    • Special dietary requirements
      Rabea has a slight gluten sensitivity. This means eating a small quantity is not a problem. However eating large amounts makes her feel ill the next day.

Photos

Feedback