Paola

  • Italy
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    Ciao! I'm glad you're here :)

    MY STORY

    My name is Paola, but you can call me Pao. I come from the heart of the Mediterranean, the island of Sicily (Italy). I am a queer anthropologist and entrepreneur at heart. I love embarking on new ventures, whether that's cultural projects in urban settings or expeditions in remote islands in the middle of the Ocean.

    Since the age of 14 I have taken part to exchange programs and intercultural events around the world, so I grew up in very different societies and contexts, raised by a diverse group of individuals who I still consider my teachers and family members to this day.

    These experiences have taught me how to live with people from different backgrounds and cultures, to be tolerant and respectful. I have hosted lots of people from all kinds of places in my home so I have developed a sense of hospitality and an open mind. I've also traveled solo a lot, something that has given me independence and courage.

    After travelling the Trans-Siberian from Finland, through Russia, Mongolia and all the way to China, in 2016, I realised that Anthropology was the calling I had long searched for, due to my fascination for humans, ecosystems, cultures and global issues. I graduated in 2021 from a university of London, where I lived for 5 years while doing all kinds of jobs and taking part to all the sports and activities I could get involved in.


    MY SKILLS

    Aside from my academic background, I am also a freelance writer and translator, a qualified yoga teacher and fitness instructor, and I have also worked as a pet walker/sitter, nanny, exam supervisor, language tutor, barista, waiter, and in a construction company as well.

    I like to get out of my comfort zone whenever I can, maybe by learning something new or travelling or doing something that scares me (e.g. surfing!). For this reason, I am very flexible, resilient and open minded. I can play guitar and a bit of piano (now learning the drums!), have construction and DIY skills, I am able to draw / paint, I love cooking and making people smile! I am quite goofy so a laugh is always guaranteed around me.

    I am an activist at heart, a natural leader and justice warrior. I am a great listener and communicator, and I am currently training to become a mentor / coach. Everything I do has a trauma-informed, harm-reduction, anti-discriminatory approach.


    MY SOUL

    The more I grow up, the more I try to become a child again. I try to find joy and bliss in mundane and simple things, from playing in the grass, rolling down the hills, dancing freely, talking to animals, looking at everything with fresh, new, curious eyes. I like exploring my senses (smell, touch, kinesthetics..) and discover new layers of embodiment. I find life incredibly fascinating and I am my favourite research subject!

    I like to vary my hobbies often: I play all kinds of sports (football, volleyball) and martial arts; reading, writing, rock climbing, hiking, diving, gardening, learning languages (currently Spanish and Portuguese). I like to find moments of mindfulness throughout the day but I try to keep a routine of journaling, meditating, doing some conscious somatic movement (yoga, dance, chi qong) to keep body and mind attuned.

    People seem to like me for my incredible zest for life and enthusiasm I put in the things I do with purpose and passion.


    My greatest desire is to share, connect and to contribute to make this beautiful world a peaceful and harmonious place. Please let me realise my dream by giving me the chance to connect with you :)

    Pao

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Team sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Performing arts

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Being an elderly companion
    Babysitting and creative play

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    There's nothing that makes me happier than giving! So I'm happy to share any skills I have and to help wherever I can. I can help as an anthropologist in developing cultural programs and workshops. I can teach yoga, meditation, breathing exercises, as well as offer coaching sessions and somatic dance movement activities. I can cook plant-based recipes, Italian food, sushi, amazing porridge and cakes. I can also help with fitness and nutrition.

    Italian and English are my first two languages and I am very confident in teaching. Coming from a rural part of Sicily I'm also very familiar with agriculture and fruit picking. I have DIY skills and love for art that I would love to share! Travelling is of course my biggest passion and I would be happy to help plan trips or excursions as I've always done that independently (and successfully!). I'm also a great pet/ babysitter as I have the best time playing with kids and animals! I find myself to be very resourceful so I keep discovering new skills when they seem to be necessary.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    Italian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Flexible but mostly vegan

Friends

Photos

Feedback