Don

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (4)

Explorer
Top Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    United States - from Feb 2022 until Mar 2023
    View all
  • Description

    Hi!

    I was avidly traveling/volunteering for years--here on Workaway-- until everything changed. We now have a world full of restrictions & guidelines. So here is my quick word on Covid: I had it--with mild symptoms, recovered--and am not vaccinated. That being said: Please do not contact me if you have any protocols (distancing, masks, vaccination status or the like). Also, I am currently only seeking positions within the USA. Thank you for respecting my opinion as I respect yours.

    I put my career as an Electrician/Facility Maintenance Operator on hold 6 years ago and was volunteering, taught English for one year, and worked here and there and everywhere, I have been to 43 countries (last count)!

    I enjoy adventure & fun. Consider myself matured, respectful and non-political. I can be reserved, but if we get a few beers in us I'm very open to good discussions.

    I love animals! If you have pets whether domestic or agricultural I will talk to them and pet them to get my animal fix. Even though I don't have any children I enjoy their company, insight and laughter of all ages. We have had many a great time in my classrooms!

    I am a confident, healthy, happy, well travelled, easy-going yet hard-working, trail running, athletic, relaxed, well spoken, nature lover yet enjoy the city cafés, type of adventurer. Quite a mixture there, but that's who I am.

    We will get along . . . you can trust me on this. : )

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Animals
    Pets
    Music
    Astronomy
    Cooking & food
    Culture
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have worked in construction and facilities maintenance and am an electrician by trade. These are skills and careers that have encompassed the majority of my life.

    I have worked both paid and voluntarily on different farms. I know how to drive a tractor, use all lawn/grass equipment, as well as all power tools, hand tools, and manual tools (my hands, feet, sweat and tears) LOL.

    An avid outdoor wilderness lover, I am. I have many years experience in the mountains, rivers, and forests. I can guide hikes, overnight camping, and introduce people to the fun of trail running, camping and mountain biking. I have engaged in many outdoor and team sports (mostly land based) all my life.

    Computers are great but I do not let them take over my life. That being said I am efficient (enough) on a computer. Having been a teacher I am comfortable talking to groups, or imparting needed information to guests/visitors staying at your lodge or hotel.

    I also consider myself to be resourceful, confident, adaptable and punctual. If I commit to our 'Workaway' agreement, I will be reliable.
    Creating simple yet tasty meals is a must being a single guy. I am not a chef by any means, but if basic ingredients are available I can make do.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    I have taught English in an official capacity, but haven't for years. I am always interested in learning more Spanish.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    53

  • Nationality

    USA/Irish

  • What else ...

    I loved my life of being a traveller and volunteer. I have wanted nothing more than to be able to live anywhere, enjoy meeting new people, travel, and wander. That being said, I don't want to hop, skip and jump from every hostel, and hip place by riding endless buses, trains, taxis and donkey carts anymore.
    Slowing down, immersing, getting to know people, the land and more importantly a lifestyle is the way to do it. I am looking for my own slice of heaven and I want to know if somewhere around your place might be it?

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback