Marco

From: Italy

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mongolia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    22/07/2019 - 07/08/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello Hosts and Workawayers,

    My name is Marco, I am originally from Italy, although I have lived extensively abroad.

    I am 43 years old, and after completing an universtity degree and Masters in London, have then worked in many fields including aviation and journalism.
    I have now spent about 5 years in Marrakech, Morocco, living and learning from the local culture. I am operating a small snack bar as well as lodging tourists.

    I know now I would rather be outdoors and in contact with nature, when possible learning cultural events and ways of living, than to be sat at a desk most times.

    I am very interested in travelling to Mongolia this summer and discoveing its nature and ways of life, and this is the main reason I joined workaway.

    I speak English, Italian and French.

  • Type of help

    Farmstay
    Helping with Tourists

  • What skills do you have?

    I have different and diverse skills. I have tried many things in my life, although perhaps my specialities would be more academic or artistic things.
    I have majored in Sociology and Media Studies and have a Masters in Theatre Arts. In the past I have done much acting on stage and directed a few shows at the theatre at an amateur level.

    I am here however as I would like to expand on relevant skills pertaining to working on a nomad farm in Mongolia. I would like to experience the work that is done, as well as living the nomad lifestyle a bit. I am attracted to something very different than what I know already.

    What can I offer?

    I'm 43 but reasonably fit and enthusiastic. I think I can handle physical work. I am also on the whole a disciplined person and can absord and remember things fairly easily I'm motivated and on the whole take most thing I do quite seriously.

    I must admit I can't rida a horse...but I would like to learn! I have recently started taking lessons, 2 so far (the priofile picture is my second lesson) and intend to do more lessons in the following three months here in Marrakech. So hopefully by the time I get to Mongolia this summer, I will know the ropes of riding a horse!

    I would like to be there end of july- beginning of August.

  • Languages spoken

    Italian, english, french

  • Age

    43

  • Nationality

    Italian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      dust (in high quantities)

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback