Michelle

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/07/2017 - 31/10/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    431

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi everyone!

    My name is Michelle and I am an outgoing Dutch traveler. After graduating from university with a Neuroscience Master, I decided to expand my horizons by travelling through Australia and Asia.

    In Australia I had the amazing opportunity to work as a governess for an Australian family with two children in the Australian outback. The main focus was on teaching them how to read and write English, but I also took care of them during the day as the parents worked with the cattle. In South Korea, I worked in a language cafe in Busan to help university students practice their conversational English and made some lovely friends along the way. In Vietnam I worked as an English teacher for 2 months in Ha Giang with a great group of children (various ages and proficiency levels) but also some amazing adults trying to improve their business or just trying to keep busy. In Malaysia I helped out at a language school for several weeks by teaching several classes independently (from small children to teenagers).

    In addition to teaching, I did several months of farm work on a cattle station, I worked in a bakery making bread, and I served some delicious food and drinks as a barista/waitress. At a recent workaway spot in Singapore I baked bread, helped out with probiotics, and took care of two lovely dogs. And at my latest workaway spot I worked for a month in housekeeping and helped out as a waitress. I like to try and do as much as I can on my trip!

    My favourite part of travelling is meeting so many wonderful people and sharing stories. I am always eager to learn about new cultures. By applying for helper positions through workaway I hope to meet local people, so my experiences in the places I visit will be even more special.

    I look forward to meeting many interesting people and making new friends!

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    PADI Rescue Diver scuba certificate
    TEFL qualification and experience teaching English in Australia, and volunteering as an English teacher in South Korea, Vietnam, Malaysia and Thailand (various ages and proficiency levels). During University I worked as a tutor for bachelor students.
    I worked as an au-pair/governess with children aged 3-7.
    I worked with cattle in the Australian outback and have experience in the in-house butchery.
    I have experience painting and doing general maintenance in the Australian outback.
    I have worked independently in a bakery as a baker's assistant for several months and have worked part-time as a waitress for years.
    I have taken care cats, dogs and young cattle.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Dutch

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback