• Germany
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently


  • Description

    Hello everyone,
    I am Michelle, aged 32, energetic but peaceful, smiling a lot but thoughtful, interested in many aspects of life and willing to learn new things every day. I get along very good with nearly all the people I meet. I am reliable, keep promises and when I started doing something, I want to do and finish it in my best possible way. I like challenges :-)

    I was born in Luxemburg and raised a very small village in the countryside. After school I went to Germany to study sports science. I graduated in 2011 and then worked as a snowboard instructor before taking a job in Luxemburg in a sports project working with kids. I moved to Berlin in 2016 because I wanted to live in a big city. Again I picked a job with kids because I realised how amazing kids are :-)

    But now, after travelling 6 month in Asia last year, I felt that it is time to change what I have never questioned before: the routine of a daily life! I decided to quit my job, give away all my possession and go to Japan, the country I couldn´t get out of my head and heart since I first stepped on it in 2009. I have been three times in Japan since then and last year I walked the Shikoku 88 temples trail, one of the best things I have ever done in my life! I am learning japanese but it is still very basic (but I really want to improve it).

    As I studied sports science, I like sports and moving in general. But I also enjoy the silence, reading books and thinking. I love travelling as well, because it combines all these wonderful aspects like freedom, interesting and mind-opening conversations, learing and living on the moment.

    In the 6 month travel last year, I learned about work away. I was using couchsurfing for a long time but work away is the next level. It is an even better chance to dive in and improve the exchange between different cultures.

    As I have lived in a big city now, I want to stay more in the rural areas of Japan. I want to be closer to nature again and learn more about organic gardening and permaculture. I would like to understand how food grows and how people and nature can live together without exploitation. And of course I want to learn more about japanese culture and language.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
  • More details about your skills

    I have a lot of experience in the work with kids aged 2 to 12 years. I used to do all different kind of sports with the kids. I also worked as a snowboard instructor, helped out in a ski rental and did some office jobs.

    Apart of that, I think I am a fast learner, I am flexible and I have energy. Just show me the tasks, give me some explanations and I will use my hands and brain and give my best to work independantly.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Luxembourgish: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Japanese: Beginner

  • Age


  • What else ...

    The type of help I can provide is what I would like to do or what I can imagine to do. I don´t have big experiences or qualifications in all these things but I am confident that I manage it after getting some advice :-)
    I am looking forward to do something useful with hands, my skills and my energy.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements