Meghan

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    19/11/2018 - 10/05/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    My backstory //
    I graduated in December of 2018 (with a BSc in Biology at UBC) and jumped right into working (as an invasive insect and plant disease inspector in BC, Canada). After my contract ended I decided to run off to Central America because it had been a dream of mine for many, many years. I worked at a variety of farming-related workstays: a permaculture farm, an organic fruit farm, and a butterfly conservatory. I am especially passionate about anything related to ecology, zoology, sustainability, and animal welfare.

    About myself and my working style //
    I am a very conscientious and focused worker. I like to complete everything to the best of my ability, to challenge myself. I am very passionate about organization and minimalism (I pack light and often will reorganize everything just for fun). I am introverted, which means that I need recharge time to myself. I can spend hours (days) by myself and be extremely happy. This translates into: I work very well alone and unsupervised, and that if I disappear at the end of the day it's nothing personal! On that note, I love to try anything and everything there is to offer on terms of jobs because you never know until you try, right? I also believe that that learning from others is the best way to learn, and that teamwork is about being empathetic and compassionate and open, which are things that I love to share with others.

    My interests //
    I always want to learn more about ecology, zoology, mycology, sustainability & permaculture, animal welfare, farming & gardening, animal care. I love to read, hike, walk long distances (the Pacific Crest Trail is a goal of mine), take photos, write, listen to music, go to concerts, explore explore explore.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    General gardening & farming //
    - planting, weeding, watering, soil maintenance in backyard at home for my entire life
    - creator of a 'residence garden' in university, through my position as a residence advisor
    - tree trimming at home and at a workstay
    - WWOOF workstay at a butterfly conservatory which included weeding and maintenance of plants in butterfly atriums
    - workstay on a permaculture farm for one month
    - coffee berry, mandarin, and other fruit picking experience from various workstays

    Permaculture //
    - planting
    - weeding
    - soil preparation
    - garden layout & ditch & waterway planning/digging
    - applying mulch
    - clearing brush/weeds with machete

    Painting //
    - summer position in painting company (painted indoor and exterior of houses, gates, etc)
    - painting of greenhouse at a workstay
    - painting of part of kitchen, bathroom, and porch areas at another workstay

    Animals //
    - grown up with dogs all my life
    - volunteer at BCSPCA as a dog walker for 5 years
    - volunteer at a butterfly conservatory which included care for frogs and turtles (as well as the butterflies)
    - chicken feeding/care via two separate workstays

    Housesitting //
    - 3 months term, including care for cat, mail pickup, snow shoveling, general cleaning of home
    - 1 week term, including care for dog

    Cooking //
    - 6 years experience making vegan food at home for myself and family
    - cooking with previous workstay families and hosts

    Technology //
    - Excel: I have created a personal, and very detailed budgeting form for myself
    - Website creation: familiar with creating my own website for blogging purposes via Wix and Tumblr

    Music //
    - piano lessons for 10 years, grade 8 level Royal Conservatory
    - currently teaching myself ukelele

    Other //
    - licensed to drive in Canada
    - certified as an emergency first responder & experienced via the emergency first response team at UBC

  • Languages spoken

    English, French (moderately weak), Spanish (very weak).

  • Age

    25

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Dairy

    • Special dietary requirements
      Dairy free, not a big meat eater.

Feedback