Martin & Mjellma

  • Belgium
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (1)


Profile information

  • Travel information


  • Description

    Hi everybody,

    My name is Mjellma and I am a 26 years old Belgian girl. I recently graduated in architecture in Brussels. I have been dreaming since then to learn more about construction and hope to work, in the futur, in an office that create small projects and that would follow its projects in the realization and participate in the building sites. I am a handbook person and love to learn about all areas from do-it-yourself to construction, gardening and artistic fields.

    I come from a family that has been experimenting with zero waste for over two years and has always had a strong economic conscience and hates waste. I am a person who prefers to travel by public transit and likes to travel by backpack or bicycle! I also have a touch with nature, including both the fauna and the flora, which started with intense observation when I was a little girl and continues to animate me today. I am therefore a person who enjoys being outside and discovering new natural environments.

    Currently I have decided to take some time to travel. I arrived in South America in January where I experienced my first workaway. I have taken a liking for this way of traveling and would like to continue volunteering or combining travel and work for a while.

    About my experiences : I stayed for 6 months on a property in Chile where I learned a lot about gardening. I learned how to weed, turn and prepare beds, arrange spaces and even build a temporary greenhouse. But also to prepare the soil, compost using manure, deracinate and sometimes displace plants or bushes and to plant different seeds. I would also have experienced a multitude of shorter term missions (between one day and two weeks) in maintenance, animal care, cooking, moving wood for the fire, moving rocks for construction, preparing a temascal, taking care of guests and constructions. In my free time I have been involved in small artistic projects, make one or two-day treks, take advantage of the creative energy and activities offered by community life and sometimes writing.

    Since I started this trip I have felt myself growing up and have pushed within me the desire to understand what is acting on my inner calm and my inner balance.

    I like living in a community (although sometimes the language requires some time to adapt) and I find it easy to live in this way because I have been in different groups since I was very young (scouts, sports, vacations, etc.). I am also relatively versatile, I am not afraid about physical work and to try new things. Also I am really motivated when I like the proposal!

    Also, I have a knowledge of many tools and machines because I started tinkering at a young age, I was brought up to build in my architectural training, I did a short training in Hebenistry and I like to build various objects in my free time. I also have painting skills and have sometimes worked with a blacksmith.

    About languages : I speak French as my mother tongue, Italian because I lived one year in Italy and English (which I studied at school) since I travel.

    I look forward to see you and hope to be able to share with you a new and enriching experience !


  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
  • More details about your skills

    We are both young graduates with a master in architecture. We are manual people who love to use their hands and have already made some small constructions.
    We like to travel by ourself (bike, backpack) and have lived in Italy for a year.


    - Painting skills
    - Gardening
    - Cooking *and especially for a community. I love to cook but I couldn't call it a passion.*
    - Use of ironwork machine (basic) *I have sometimes worked with a blacksmith.*
    - Knowledge of many tools and machines *I started tinkering at a young age, I was brought up to build in my architectural training, I did a short training in Hebenistry and I like to build various objects in my free time. *
    - Sewing, repair and creation of clothing (in leisure)
    - Drawing *as long as I can remember I've always loved drawing.*

    Martin :
    I like photography, drawing, playing tennis and riding a lot on a bike.

    We are also open minded people and we look a lot for new experiences.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    27 & 27

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements