Julianna

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    China, France, Greece, Hong Kong, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/05/2020 - 01/08/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    283

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    By nature, I am a bubbly outgoing person. I have always loved starting up a conversation with complete strangers for I believe life is boring to live boxed away from the rest of the world. Living the majority of my life moving place to place due to my father being in the military, I found that I enjoyed the constant change of environment and I became quite adept at adjusting to my surroundings. If my friends and family were to describe me, I am quite certain the word 'spontaneous' would be the first word to pop out of their mouths.
    After spending the summer of 2014 volunteering in Ba Vi, Vietnam I had the privilege to experience the true colors of the Vietnamese culture. Working at the orphanage in Ba Vi completely transformed my outlook on life and is what sparked my interest in living abroad. My ultimate dream in life is to teach English abroad, preferably in South Korea. I believe there is nothing more powerful than the ability to communicate and that learning a second language gives you the power to communicate with a larger group of people giving you a huge advantage in life. Throughout the majority of my teenage and adult years, I have found that I love learning languages as well as cooking. My journey through languages even brought me the opportunity to study abroad in Barcelona, Spain and to improve my Spanish and has ultimately been the main inspiration for the career I want in life. My hobby for cooking was conceived from my wish to live in a healthier more productive way and my mother has helped learn significantly in that regard.
    Quite recently I have begun my training at the University of Northern Colorado to become an Elementary teacher with an emphasis on learning English. A lot of the work I have done so far has involved tutoring children in reading and writing to help them perfect their oral and written proficiency. It is my objective to improve my teaching skills as much as possible in regards to teaching English.
    For me working abroad isn't some quick vacation where you go to some attraction take a few photos and stick to the touristy areas. It is about so much more than that, it is about experiencing the true bittersweet culture of a nation first hand, it is about becoming close with the local population so much so that they become like a second family. All things considered, I believe that I have the ability to be of benefit to wherever I work.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Basic Life Support - BLS CPR (Adult / Child / Infant / Choking) AED / First-Aid / Bloodborne Pathogens
    Fundamental cooking skills, Organized, Adaptable to any given environment, musically gifted, artistically gifted, able to provide instruction in English, Basic conversational Spanish, Simple Japanese speaking ability, Training in Elementary Teaching

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish level 2 (taking level 3 this quarter), Japanese level 1

  • Age

    20

  • Nationality

    American

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback