Lily

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Austria, Croatia, France, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Morocco, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/08/2018 - 30/06/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello all, my name is Lillian, thank you for stopping in! I have been sporadically participating in workaway projects for a year now and it's been the experience of a lifetime. I am American, from Cincinnati, Ohio, and I finished my studies in university last year. I'm currently on, let's call it a "sabbatical", before I re-enter the world of academia. I hope to earn my Ph.D. in history in the next few years, but for now I've made the decision to step away and immerse myself in other ways of life. Down the road, I'd like to buy a piece of property for my own, living off the grid, supporting myself sustainably. Through workaway, I've begun to contribute to other likeminded hosts' projects, learning different techniques in compost, renovation, construction, design, and permaculture.
    For the remaining months of this decade, I am interested in a few different possibilities when it comes to a workaway, however, I am always flexible :) At this moment, it's been my preference to stay away from big cities and urban life. Living simply in the country, reconnecting with nature, animals, and gardening is the rhythm I'm after. I would also love to meet other musicians for collaboration and connection, I play the classical piano (self-taught, very basic, but I adore) and I am a jazz vocalist... if you play music or have a piano in your home it would be incredible. I'd really like to expand my horizons on the jazz front.
    Additionally, I love to paint, draw, read, write, I love to cook and bake, learn new culinary techniques and homeopathic treatments.
    I enjoy working both alone and amongst a family. I would also be interested in a housesitting or animal care position. I feel comfortable being in isolated environments for extended periods of time.
    I am not afraid to get my hands dirty...! I spend the summers working at a girls' organization as a canoe and portaging trip leader in the Ontario wilderness.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching
  • What skills do you have?

    I can cook, bake, garden, farm, lift heavy things, some light basic home renovation skills like painting and wood varnishing, sanding, etc. TEFL (teaching English as a second language) certified, WFR (wilderness first responder) certified. I have strong skills regarding wilderness survival and canoeing, some basic sailing experience.
    Additionally, I have experience with animal care, dogs, cats, rabbits, chickens, ducks, geese, donkeys, etc. I used to work at an animal shelter and growing up, spent time on my family's farm.
    Experience with teaching and language instruction, worked as a language and education tutor at a refugee resettlement agency in Ohio while in university.
    Available to help with computers, I spent the summer helping a friend of mine organize stories and photos in Photoshop for a book he has been writing.
    Language exchange, creative artistic skills.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    American

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      none

    • Special dietary requirements
      "Flexitarian", I am an adventurous eater! I have also enjoyed (prefer) vegetarian/vegan diets but I'm low maintenance

Photos

Feedback