Lauren

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling


    Tramping, camping, rock climbing, creative writing, reading

  • Description

    Hi there! I'm Lauren, a carefree and adventurous American taking a gap year in the beautiful country of New Zealand in the hopes of learning more about myself, the friendly people I meet, and the wonders of this area.
    I graduated from university in May 2019 studying biochemistry and molecular biology, and I'm always in search of new experiences and learning opportunities. I laugh often, and I try to find at least one way to relate to each person I meet. I value honesty, compassion, and authenticity, and I try to live my life by practicing these each day.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Animals
    Pets
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
  • More details about your skills

    Gardening/Farming -
    I have basic experience with gardening, weeding, maintenance, lawn care, and such. While I don't have much experience with large scale farming or farm animal maintenance, I'm open to learning on the job!

    Carpentry/Painting -
    I have a few years of experience with carpentry (cutting/screwing/sanding wood, executing a pre-designed plan). I'm also very comfortable painting indoor and outdoor areas. While I may not be able to design a carpentry plan, I can understand and execute it once given a walk-through of instructions. I'm also keen to learn additional carpentry skills that I don't already possess.

    Childcare/Housework -
    I adore children and have good experience babysitting children as young as infants and as old as middle school teenagers. I lived and worked as an au pair in Wellington for 8 months - 5 months with a two- and four-year-old, and 3 months with a seven- and nine-year-old. I like talking and playing with children, as they often have a different perspective on the world - a perspective that reminds me of the importance of compassion, patience, and joy.
    I am comfortable performing numerous household chores, including laundry, tidying up, vacuuming/sweeping, organization, and dishes. I would say I'm an adequate cook - I enjoy cooking and can follow instructions, but I am not a top chef by any means.

    Although these are the skills that I bring to the table, I'm keen to learn new things and experience other ways of living. I strive to be a quick learner, detail-oriented, and patient, and I hope that you'll be patient with me as well as I learn on the job!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    I'm a huge fan of outdoor adventures, arts and crafts, animals, reading, dancing, and writing. Being in this lovely country, I'm also keen to meet new people and hear about their perspectives and experiences living here. I enjoy sharing my own stories of living in the southern United States (grew up in Tennessee, went to uni in Kentucky). I'm passionate about human rights issues, conservation, medical and scientific literacy, and practicing empathy as a means of effective nonviolent communication.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback