Laura

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Germany

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/11/2019 - 23/11/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I‘m a happy little soul, born and raised in Germany.
    Over the last couple of years I‘ve become more and more interested in sustainability and self-sufficiency and now plan on moving to an eastern country to become a host myself one day. In the meantime I want to learn lots of things and gain experiences!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I've been a workawayer for over a year now.
    I can use an axe to fell a tree and split wood. And on the subject I can stack wood. I know how to use and sharpen a variety of traditional homestead tools. To date I have scythed orchards, loaded hay into wagons, replaced tiles on rooves and I know how to drive a 4x4 off road, both with left and right-hand drives. I've used a wood stove to cook on for over a year. I know how to clean and maintain one too.

    I've grown and cared for a range of plants from seed to harvest using no-dig, Ruth Stout's straw method, no-watering techniques, homemade fertilizers, composting including humanure (!!!).

    I have studied a herbology course and I can identify and forage a bunch of wild edibles and medicinal herbs.
    I understand fermantation and I have preserved a number of different foods and drinks (!) like pickled gherkins, sauerkraut (of course), elderflower champagne, dandelion wine and coffee and I'm keen to do many more.
    I enjoy baking a variety of buns, rolls, breads, cakes, sourdoughs. I helped to build a cob pizza oven and would be happy to prepare my speciality pizzas!
    I'm also studying to become a vegan nutritionalist.
    So I would be very happy to bring some delicious nutrition and flavours to your table.

    I'm very creative as a volunteer. I've created dozens of macrame plant hangers, wall hangings, dream catchers and table runners.
    On an evening around the campfire you will see my spinning my flaming Dragonstaff.

    I have nearly a year's experience in an elderly care home working from intimate care to companionship.
    I'm also experienced in child care and I have done internships in kindergartens.
    I also love dogs and I have rescued, rehabilitated and trained my own beautiful bulgarian street dog.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Age

    23

  • What else ...

    I hope to build on the skills I already have, to learn more about permaculture, nutrition, traditional skills and animal care.
    One day I'll have my own.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Certain foods and animals

    • Special dietary requirements
      Food that I‘m not allergic to is awesome! I eat a veggie/vegan diet. Pretty cheap ;)

Photos

Feedback