Kyle & Rebekah

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Taiwan, Tonga

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/04/2018 - 15/05/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    594

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi, Kyle and Rebekah here!
    We are a married couple currently traveling in South East Asia and Oceania. We have travelled on holiday in the past, but this time we are looking to experience and share cultures through Work Away. For us, traveling is not just to see the sights and getting the picture. We are looking for cultural, working and learning experiences while helping Work Away hosts with our various skills.
    We have performed several home projects around our home over the past 8 years including bathroom renovation, wood floor installation, appliance (gas stove, dishwasher, refrigerator) installation/maintenance, and just about any other general fix required from a 40+ year old home. We have gained experience in painting, construction, plumbing and basic electric. We also grow organic vegetable and herb gardens throughout the year. We are by no means self sufficient, but we have fun eating and growing our own vegetables.
    Rebekah is a nurse and has served in pediatrics and community health education. She loves working with people, gardening and does not mind helping with home projects. She also adores children and does art as a hobby.
    Kyle is a software engineer and is happy to assist with any website/computer needs. Additionally, Kyle has become extremely handy around the home and can tackle nearly any project and is an excellent chef.
    We are friendly and both worked in the service industry for several years prior to establishing our careers. We love dogs, nature, and always try to be as environmentally responsible as possible.
    Having backpacked to various countries in South America and Southeast Asia, we are very reliable and flexible with accommodations.
    We value the experience to stay with locals and are always happy to help.
    We understand that this is not a vacation, but rather a work exchange to meet new people and be enriched by culture; for us it's the only way to travel.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in: 

    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of: 

    Being an elderly companion
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Able to teach about: 

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Building/construction, basic plumbing, basic electric, computers (troubleshooting hardware/software issues), web design, cooking, DIY home projects, painting, organic gardening and composting, dog sitting, fermenting foods/drinks, health and nutrition education, holistic health, registered nurse, although Rebekah is not an artist by trade she is talented and enjoys art projects, service industry

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Age

    35 & 34

  • Nationality

    USA

  • What else ...

    We love dogs! We have two of our own fur babies and host dogs in our home. Check out our profile with a wealth of positive reviews and great customer experiences: https://www.rover.com/members/rebekah-k-keep-austin-furry/

    Also, here's some references from some AirBnB hosts where we have stayed in the past:
    https://www.airbnb.com/users/show/3608269

    https://www.linkedin.com/in/kyle-kotyk-4b308127/
    https://www.linkedin.com/in/rebekah-k-0b070a85/

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Rebekah is gluten-free

Photos

Cooking in Johor
Painting in Pulau Aur
Making hand squeezed virgin coconut oil
Durian collecting!
Coconut planting

Feedback