Katherine

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/07/2019 - 30/09/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I'm Katherine and I'm a 22-year-old American from Washington, DC, and a recent graduate from King's College London. I'm a go-getter, a conversationalist, very adventurous, a fast learner, insatiably curious and inquisitive.

    I'm hoping to find a place to work, practice my French, and write before I apply to city jobs and begin my next chapter. I've never actually been to France, but I lived in Morocco for a year and fell in love with the French language. Additionally, my late mother had a dream of going to Lourdes so I decided to realize it for her and turn it into a summer of adventure, learning, nature, fresh air, and new friends.

    I feel passionately about the need to address climate change and would really love the opportunity to work and stay somewhere with hosts who feel similarly and are living to minimize their individual adverse impact on the climate. I also studied politics, philosophy, and economics and am huge nerd so would be very happy with hosts who are interested in Big Questions/politics/futurism.

    I do have some experience doing work-stays. I worked on a small farm on Lopez Island, Washington for a month through WWOOF. I also worked at a small bed and breakfast in northern California for a summer, as well as a hostel in San Francisco, both arranged through HelpX.

    Like I said, I'm a quick learner and am eager to help with whatever tasks you may need! I do speak a bit of french and really want to push myself to improve it!! I also plan on doing quite a bit of writing so a place with good WiFi is essential. Otherwise, I'm really low-maintenance, enthusiastic, and very very very excited to meet new people and learn from them!!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I'm athletic and a quick learner so am confident that I can do any unskilled task you may need help with. I've also had past experience at work-stays including a bed and breakfast, a small personal farm, and a hostel. I'm also good with kids and pets!

  • Languages spoken

    English, French (intermediate)

  • Age

    22

  • Nationality

    United States

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback