Josh & Christina

From: United Kingdom & Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/08/2020 - 23/09/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1231

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello! We are Josh and Christina, an English/Canadian couple looking to spend some quality time with the natural world, share and develop skills in gardening, growing and building, and get to know some new eco/community projects.

    We are both very easygoing people with a sunny sense of humour, while also being hardworking and dedicated to the tasks we undertake. We dream of some day having our own piece of land and have been studying permaculture/sustainability, so we are extremely keen on soaking up as much knowledge as possible from people who have been on this journey of sustainable living themselves.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    We have both completed a full-time, year-long Practical Sustainability course and Permaculture Design Certificate with Shift Bristol. During this extensive course we gained experience and foundational understanding of a broad variety of areas, including permaculture design, horticulture, natural building, group dynamics, etc.

    Christina has experience working on farms and in gardens, tending to both plants and animals (including chickens, goats, cows, and pigs). She was the volunteer coordinator on a permaculture farm in Guatemala for one year, where she also completed a PDC. For the past year, she's been living with an intentional community just outside of Bristol, where she gained loads of experience managing both the land and communal living. She's a former ESL teacher and has lived/worked all around the world.

    Josh has experience in a variety of fields, having worked as a gardener, musician, tree planter, and hedge layer amongst other things. A passion for working towards a more beautiful world has led him to look at how people can be brought closer to a sense of place, through ecology, adventure and rural skills. Previous exploration of this field has included him facilitating nature connection activities for groups of young people, holding mens circles and running permaculture tours at an outdoor hostel in Nicaragua. Having been accepted onto a programme to study outdoor education next year, he hopes to further develop ecological awareness and outdoor skillsets that can feed future changemaking.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    25 & 29

  • Nationality

    English and Canadian

  • What else ...

    We are very appreciative and responsible guests, who are happy to help out wherever we can. We look forward to getting to know our hosts and spending quality time, but are also equally satisfied entertaining ourselves and spending time on our own exploring the surrounding area/reading/playing music/etc.

    We put yes on the 'smoker' category but it might be worth noting that we usually just smoke one or two cigarettes (of tobacco only) a day, in the evening hours.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback