Joe

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Germany

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/09/2020 - 30/06/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello! My name's Joe. I'm 22 and have just finished my university studies. I did philosophy (and a bit of politics and economics) in Oxford for three years, and then philosophy (again) in London for one year. This year my aim is to learn German - as well as to meet new people and have an adventure! There are many German books I'd like to read, and songs I'd like to sing. I'd also like to be able to work in continental Europe one day. My plan is to become a teacher (of philosophy).

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Helping around the house
  • More details about your skills

    I'd like to think that I'm a good teacher. In any case, I have some experience teaching. I've taught Oxford University candidates, German primary school pupils, my little brother, and many other people.

    I can play the piano to a decent standard. I've done many recitals - in my university chapel, and most recently on a barn in a farm in Germany! I've also done some singing - a cappella and as part of a choir. And last year I helped to organise the music and entertainment for a ball (you can see my face again here, under 'Committee': intothewoods2019.mystrikingly.com).

    I'm a native English speaker and so my English is good! My German is not so good, but I'm working to change that.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    22

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback