Jan

  • Germany
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (14)

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling


    Always down for a meetup!

  • Description

    Hi there! My name is Jan and I'm 18 years old. I come from Frankfurt, Germany where I live with my family as the oldest of three siblings. Currently, after my graduation from highschool last June, I'm on a gap year and want to take advantage of the time until I will go to university next fall to study communications or law.

    In this exciting period of my life I am keen on experiencing being immersed into different cultures around the world. Therefore, for me it doesn't really matter with which tasks I can help you, as long as both of us have a great time!

    I would describe myself as an open-minded, outgoing, adventurous and easy going person with whom you can have a lot of fun. But when there is something to be done, I'm ambitious and always focused on the goal. I'm also interested in interchange, expressing my opinion and to share experiences.

    Due to my parents, who both work for the German airline Lufthansa, I have already travelled a lot and discovered a real passion in it. After having seen many regions of Europe in particular, I am now especially interested in the more distant countries!

    I would be glad if you'd like to host me, because I’d love to see as much parts of this beautiful planet as possible, help in multiple projects, learn new skills (or languages!) and meet up with people from all around the world!

  • Interests

    Beach
    Sailing / Boating
    Team sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Cycling
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Art & design
    Writing
    Books
    Music
    Technology
    Cooking & food
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture
    Events & social
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I already had a great time as an Au-Pair in Spain and have some experience in this field. As I already mentioned, I have two younger siblings (12 and 15 years old), whom I had to look after when we were younger, but I also had babysitting jobs in the neighbourhood and at friends of my family. I found that kids really like me because it's kind of rare to have a male babysitter. I enjoy playing and being around with children.

    At home, I am involved in the household and take on tasks around the house. These could be washing dishes, cleaning, ironing clothes or little works that need to be done in the garden. I just started to try myself in cooking, I'd love to become better and learn the specialties of your country!

    I also have some experience with DIY already. With my Dad, I built my own desk and painted several walls in the house as well as little projects like bird houses or a wooden miniature of a house.

    If you like coffee, I have good news for you:) For more than an year now, I work in a local café as a barista. Besides making coffee/cappucino/espresso, I also learned how to prepare a nice breakfast and practiced working in a team.

    But the most important: no matter what I am supposed to do for you, I am able to adapt to new challenges, always willing to do a good job and someone you can rely on! Even if I can't do something yet, I like to learn it and would love to make a great time possible for both of us!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    19

  • What else ...

    In my free time, I love to do sports. For over five years, I play Volleyball in Frankfurt's leading youth team. It's fun to play with other people and to win together. In addition to that I'm a big soccer fan. Not only do I watch games live in the stadium (before Covid times), I also act as a referee in Frankfurt's youth soccer leagues for kids 8 to 13 years old.

    Music plays an important role in my life as well. If I don't listen to music, I do it myself! For over ten years, I play the trumpet. I am part of a symphonic orchestra as well as of a youth brass band, led by myself and a friend.

    Thank you for your interest in my profile and taking the time to read it!
    I'm looking forward to meeting you in person!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback