Jacqueline

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/08/2020 - 23/12/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello hosts :) :) My name is Jacqueline (Jaki), I'm a happy, energetic and friendly lass from bonnie Scotland with Scots/Irish heritage. At the moment, I am living back home in Glasgow and need to find my perfect Workaway opportunity. The aim of the game for me is to find a lovely UK-based family with children to take care of - I'm a qualified Educator and Carer of Kindergarten children. Due to the current Covid restrictions and precautions in place, I prefer to work within a family setting, rather than in a nursery or academy. Ideally, this opportunity would involve showing my passionate wee spirit for any task that you require of me, whilst also giving me the chance to develop professionally. The key areas of Kindergarten that I'd like to focus on are to support holistic development: personal, social, emotional, cognitive and physical; to celebrate the beauty of free-play and each child's own independent learning; to connect children with their outdoor environment and provide opportunities for learning; to teach songs, dances and games suitable to the children's age and stage of development; to research, learn and grow each day as a fun, energetic, gentle, encouraging and happy Practitioner.

    Please see my photos and experience below :)

    Scottish and Irish people are known to be amongst the friendliest people in the world. I'm a hard worker and, like a child, always curious to learn and grow. My heart is completely split between the love I have for family (home) and travelling (away). My goal in life is pretty simple: to work hard, enjoy good company, skills share, to help out wherever possible as a "Jacq of all trades" and make others happy :D Let's enjoy every moment of this crazy journey we call life.

    Here are some words I would use to describe myself for Workaway:
    Free spirit
    Open-minded
    Hard-worker, professional, loyal and reliable
    Good vibes
    A good sense of humour
    Always smiling/positive
    Peaceful
    Love taking time to rest and recharge
    Considerate, empathetic, compassionate and kind
    Love meeting new people
    Full of life and lots of energy
    I forgot to say... I love to sing and dance, especially in my work with children.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    •I have a certificate in Paediatric Emergency First Aid.
    •I have a Food and Hygiene certificate.
    •I have the Teaching English (TESOL) qualification.
    •I can drive :)
    •I am a university graduate of Media & Communications and have worked in different roles across Public Relations/ UK events/Customer Service.
    •I can help with: Welcoming people, promoting services, giving tours, social media, filmmaking, some editing skills. I can also help out with gardening, building and creative skills as I've completed such tasks in a previous Workaway.
    •I love animals and have cared for them twice: in Maryland, USA and Moncarapacho, Portugal.
    •I am also a professional Child Carer and Educator – caring duties, fun activities, learning through play - with a big emphasis on outdoor play, and supporting children to achieve their fullest potential, and at their own pace.
    •I have looked after children and young people in various countries: USA, Thailand, Scotland, Portugal and Spain.
    •My hobbies include: singing (Nursery Rhyme Encyclopedia), dancing (mostly with children), yoga, painting, acting, reading and for the past 3 years I've been learning to cook.
    •Working with and assisting guests/travellers/customers.
    •I have skills with creative work – making ceramics, upcycling, arts and crafts, making resources for learning.
    •I have had many jobs which involve hard and practical work. If you introduce me to any tasks, I always learn quickly and try to give my best effort!
    •Keen to further explore: International cuisine, cooking for groups, meeting new people, continuing to learn new languages, sharing different cultures and enjoying the beautiful environment.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Age

    31

  • Nationality

    Scottish

  • What else ...

    Miscellaneous:
    Music – I couldn't live without it (folk, acoustic, American blues, reggae! I am open minded to most genres); very slowly learning the ukelele.
    Enjoying conversation with interesting people and hearing their stories.
    Arts & Crafts, painting, drawing, colourful art.
    Hiking, yoga, surf and swimming.
    Relaxing :)

    Extra details about my experience working with children:
    2005-2017: Childminding duties for family and friends.
    2009: Children’s Summer Camp Counsellor and Teacher of Arts & Crafts (Maryland, North America)
    2009-2012: Student Mentor (Glasgow, Scotland) providing fun and education activities for children aged 3 to young people aged 18 years.
    2012: Project Volunteer (various locations, Thailand), teaching English to young children aged 3-10 years; providing after-school care activities; day care at a school for young blind and disabled children.
    2014: English Conversation Assistant and TEFL Teacher (Barcelona, Spain)
    2015: Playworker (Glasgow, Scotland) providing care for children aged 5-11 years old in the mornings for breakfast, taking them to school and providing fun and playful activities after school until the parents collected the children.
    2016-2017: Nursery Teacher in Glasgow, to gain my qualification.
    2017-2019- Kindergarten Teacher of English as a Foreign Language in Spain (over 2 academic years)
    2019: Young Learners English Teacher in Portugal (2 months)
    2020: Early Years Practitioner in Glasgow - contract frozen due to Covid19.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      I'm allergic to a particular antibiotic and intolerant to dairy, barley and some processed meats.

    • Special dietary requirements
      Plant-based diet. I'm very happy to buy my own alternatives to dairy.

Photos

Sharing Scottish culture!
Nursery child care - happy happy!
7am: Maya Bay beach, Thailand
Snowy Steven's Pass, Washington
Tulip festival, Washington USA
Arts and Crafts work for children
Farm work - bamboo planting
Monkey Beach, Thailand
First ever surf, Ericeira Portugal
Dr Dolittle days, Algarve Portugal
Lagos, Portugal
Adventure tour in Sagres, Portugal

Feedback