Iain

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (1)

Explorer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello,
    I am an experienced and adaptable volunteer with lots of practical gardening and farm work experience (mainly organic veg growing) but also including looking after livestock and pets. I have worked and volunteered at several farms, small holdings, private houses and spiritual communities mainly in Britain, but also in France and Spain. In July 2018 I completed one year of live-in volunteer service at Gaia House Buddhist meditation centre in England. My duties there were involved with basic building maintenance work plus gardening and helping to look after the many groups of residential guests. I continue to live and work in Devon as a Landscape Gardener.
    I have a 2 month furlough period from work coming up for the months of December 2020 and January 2021. My employer is going to Portugal to do some work on the land he has bought there. I am also interested in re-visiting Portugal with a view to perhaps living there some time in the future, I recently acquired my 5 year Residency Card. I would like to learn some Portuguese and apart from mainland Portugal I am also interested in Açores.
    I am fit and healthy and do not smoke and only very rarely have an alcoholic drink, so really not a noisy, party type. I am happy to work on my own or as part of a team. I do like to have my own room to sleep in. I am a reliable and conscientious worker and enjoy the motivation that comes with being a volunteer.
    Cheers,
    Iain

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    Plenty of organic fruit and veg growing experience from propagation to harvesting. I have also done a lot of garden maintenance work using almost all of the various types of manual and power tools available. I have a chainsaw licence and a clean car driving licence. I have also enjoyed looking after pigs, poultry, sheep, cattle and pet animals. I can cover most basic household repair and maintenance jobs, plus redecorating. One area I am not the best at is cooking.
    If house and pet sitting is required I can provide references.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    58

  • What else ...

    I am very interested in wildlife, bird watching and wilderness areas and have been most fortunate to enjoy many wonderful wildlife sightings in various parts of the world (mainly Asia) over the years. I enjoy hiking and trekking and following the fortunes of the England cricket team. I am also interested in alternative ways of living, meditation and the dharma, and the writings and philosophy of Charles Eisenstein.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Friends

Feedback