Rebecca & Jan

  • Germany
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi, we're Rebecca (26) and Jan (25), a happily married couple from Germany.

    WHAT'S OUR STORY?
    We both started working as booksellers right after finishing school and met each other in our studies that we did alongside work. It all went quickly: We fell in love, moved together, finished our courses, got a job in the same company and married in 2017.
    After several years of working, we decided that in 2020 it's time for something new. We feel like we need to take a step back from working routine and get our heads free from office work, breaking the routine, doing physical work, mastering new skills and getting to know the country that we loved from our first visit: Iceland.

    WHAT CONNECTS US TO ICELAND?
    We've always been attracted to Nordic countries, nature and way of life.
    That's why we spent our honeymoon on a two week roadtrip in Iceland. We travelled different regions, met very nice people and discovered beautiful places and landscapes. We felt all at ease and it was clear to us that someday we had to come back not just for vacation, but for a longer stay. Well, now is the time :-)

    WHAT ELSE?
    We both are calm, cheerful, patient and laid-back rather than "party people". For that reason we feel most comfortable being in the nature rather than in big cities with many people around ;-) But we always enjoy meeting new people, having a good talk and learning from each other. We'd love to take part in your family life - eating together, playing board games, going to the swimming pool, singing and playing the guitar.
    We are booksellers, so we love reading and everything about books and good stories! Music also is really important for us, as it played a big role in bringing us together. Some of our favorite artists are from Iceland, such as Ólafur Arnalds, Mono Town and Sigur Rós and we're always open to discovering new music!

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Jan says: »Rebecca is not only my beloved wife, but has also been my study companion and workmate for several years. From that I know how smart, organized, fast and responsible she is in everything she does!
    Besides her "soft skills" she is not the type of girl who is afraid to get her hands dirty. She grew up on a small subsistence farm with vegetables and poultry and spent her holidays on a farm with cows and pigs, so she's confident around animals and has some experience with feeding animals, cleaning stables, milking, driving a tractor, making hay and harvesting.
    Rebecca also counts different handcraftings like sewing or knitting to her hobbies and has done some waitress jobs in the past. You could say she is quite many-sided and keeps surprising me every day!«

    Rebecca says: »Jan is a really fast learner. He can adapt new skills and knowledge easily, so although he has no experience in farm work yet, I’m really sure he will be a valuable worker. He's always happy to give a helping hand everywhere it is needed. Since he's been doing judo for 18 years now and he’s a sporty guy, he will be able to work physically. He is also a judo trainer, so he has some experience in working with children. In our household, Jan is the man for small repairs and physical work in house and garden.
    Besides his skills and experiences, Jan is a very open-hearted and modest guy, who is always good for a laugh. He’s not only my husband, but also my best friend and I’m convinced you will love to have him around!«

    We'd call ourselves a good team, since we are used to working side by side. From our job in the office we know how to work with other people and we can handle all common EDV programs pretty well.
    Since we have our own household since 2014 we are also used to cleaning, tidying up, washing, buying groceries etc.
    We both love to cook and bake and would be happy to do our part in the kitchen or to share some recipes with you!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Age

    27 & 26

  • What else ...

    Due to the corona crisis we found ourselves forced to postpone our Iceland and Faroe plans to better times. Until then we decided to work and travel in more accessible regions and to discover Germany, Austria, the Netherlands and Switzerland!
    Since we quit our jobs we are in the lucky situation to plan our journey quite flexible.
    We would love to work on animal or vegetable farms, in hostels or BnBs, on building sites, in reforestation, or just help you out in your household and everywhere it is needed ;-)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Rebecca: House dust mite (she will bring linen, so it's no big deal), cats (only if they're living in the house) / Jan: none

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback