Helmi

From: Reunion

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/05/2020 - 01/10/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello,
    I'm Helmi, a 23 year-old university student born in Finland, currently graduating from the University of Aberdeen with a degree of MA in International relations and French.

    I would describe myself as an enthusiastic girl with a thirst for knowledge and a drive to meet everyone and go everywhere. I love diversity and meeting new people and hearing their stories. Different cultures, traditions and languages intrigue me endlessly though currently I am especially motivated to take my French closer to fluency.
    I want to learn how to live in respect with our nature in the same way as I adore it. I am particularly interested in living in a self-sustainable manner, so learning new practical skills about organic farming etc. Fundamentally I have very little need for anything, I like quite simplistic way of living - spending my days outdoors and trying not to leave a trace behind. I also enjoy expressing myself through arts of music, dance.. For the moment I am just looking to escape the chaos of the world for a while and reconnect with nature.

    Over everything, I like to have a positive outlook on life and for me the journey is always worthwhile when shared with others.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching
  • What skills do you have?

    I have a lot experience with working with people, customer service eg. working in an amusement park selling products, working in a surfcenter in a surfshop and helping to run the surfhouse, working with small children and children with special needs etc. I have a good variety of skills and I am happy to help with cleaning or organizing, cooking, running an office .. you name it I surely can learn it.

    I have been a Workawayer twice and during these experiences I learned more about gardening in relation with the values of permaculture as well as construction work eg. making cement and building a floor to a shed. After my first Workaway experience I did a 'Principles of permaculture' course with my university so I am more conscious of what permaculture is in theory.

    I can teach English or basics of French (Finnish of course too if someone dares to take up the challenge)
    I am also very tall and strong so heavylifting is no issue, when it comes to building stuff I don't have a lot of experience but again can learn fast and always up for new projects!

    Can also give violin or ukulele lessons if you provide the instruments and allow me a few days to regain some songs.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Sami: Beginner
    Swedish: Beginner

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    Finnish

  • What else ...

    My hobbies include hiking, whitewater kayaking, meditation, boxing and windsurfing if opportunity given
    Would love to learn more about well-being of the body through different practices of yoga.
    My biggest dream is to one day learn how to sail (If any sailors are reading this, or know of anyone needing extra crew members..!)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Profile is connected to:

AsiaRadkiewicz


Photos

Feedback