From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belize, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Mexico, Nicaragua

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/01/2019 - 30/04/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    During the summer I work at a local golf course where I was a bartender, waitress, do kitchen duties, clean up, order and stock supplies, customer service duties, book tee times, and drive the beer cart. The money that I make during the summer allows me to backpack to warmer countries during the cold winter months in Michigan. In the spring of 2017 I received my associates degree in General Studies from a local community college where I was chosen to be in an high honors society called Phi Theta Kappa. While being a member of this organization for the past 3 years, I've volunteered at multiple places throughout my community. These places consist of: my college's community garden, working with elementary school kids, helping with daily tasks at a transitional housing facility for abused women, and tending to the homeless at a local church by distributing basic necessities.

    During high school I worked with a program called "LINKS" where I would work one-on-one daily with teenagers who had special needs in a classroom, specifically individuals with Autism and Asperger's. Through this program I gained a greater understanding of those with disabilities and learned how to teach and engage them in everyday activities. Through "LINKS" I volunteered at many Special Olympic events within my community. I was also a member of YACkers (Youth Advisory Council), where I and others would raise funds, volunteer through community service projects, and review and make grant applications that benefited local youth needs.

    I love anything and everything to do with traveling and being outdoors! My family and I are avid tent campers and have been to most states on the south and eastern coasts of the U.S. I camp throughout the United States AT LEAST 4 times during the year. My love of camping led me to an organization known as AGLP (Alaska Great Lakes Program) through my school, where I and 70+ others drove in rental vans and tent camped throughout the state of Alaska for a whole month. Through this organization we were expected to cook, clean, do laundry, wash dishes, learn money management, set up and take down our campsites, all on our own. Some of the projects we worked on while in Alaska were water testing, hiked glaciers, ice fields, and mountains, tide pooled, whale watched, halibut fishing, explored fjords, fish hatcheries, toured Denali National Park, and visited multiple museums along the way. My first trip to Alaska, I was a part of the interview committee and would interview random people for the organization's blog. The second time I went back to Alaska I was a "Junior Leader" and helped with the younger students create videos for the blog. My love for the outdoors, gardening, recycling, and the general well-being of Mother Nature has sparked my curiosity and has led me to wanting to learn more about sustainability, permaculture, and organic farming. I also enjoy being creative and expressing myself through my art, whether its D.I.Y. projects, painting, drawing, or the clothes I wear.

    As for traveling outside the U.S., so far I've been to Mexico four times, Costa Rica four times, Canada multiple times, Guatemala twice, Belize, Honduras and Nicaragua. I fell in love with Costa Rica the very first time I stepped off the plane, and I find myself continuing to make my way back there each chance I get! This past November, 2017-January, 2018 I did a solo backpacking trip throughout Costa Rica, where I volunteered using Workaway at three different locations. At these locations I helped checked people in at a yoga retreat, worked at a sustainable farm, and was an assistant water rapelling tour guide.

    My latest adventure was 3 1/2 months solo backing through Guatemala, Belize, and Honduras. I attended Spanish school in Guatemala for 6 weeks with a local Maya family, where I then traveled more through Guatemala including: Antigua, Lake Atitlan, Flores/Tikal. Then I made my way to Belize to see some more. After Belize I went to Honduras where I volunteered on Roatan Island at a hostel for 7 weeks. There I became Advanced Open Water certified.

    During my free time, enjoy going to museums, listening to all different kind of music, going to the beach, eating Mexican food, doing D.I.Y projects, thrifting, going to concerts and music festivals, kayaking, volleyball, swimming, rollerblading, hiking, camping, learning new hobbies, and hanging out with family and friends.

    I'm an extremely personable individual that likes to have a good time! My easygoing personality and optimistic attitude makes me enjoyable to be around! I enjoy being around people and making them feel comfortable with my sarcasm and "down-to-earth" character. I am a healthy and energetic person without any disabilities and am not into smoking or drugs. I am willing and open to trying any type of new experiences and to take myself out of my comfort zone. Some neat adventures I've participated in so far is: kayaking in the mangroves, waterfall rapelling, canyoning, white water rafting, cave tubing, snorkeling, scubadiving and parasailing. I've always been one of those people to take the "road less traveled on", so backpacking worldwide has always been appealing to me since a young age! I am hoping to learn a wide range of different and valuable skills while traveling internationally. Skills that I wouldn't normally learn from a typical college setting. I am using Workaway because I really want to experience the authentic part of a country, and not just the touristy side. Workaway has led me to so many different organizations and amazing places throughout Central America that I otherwise wouldn't have had the knowledge about or opportunity to volunteer at.

  • Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    -Works well with others
    -Good communicator
    -Accepting of others
    -Team leader
    -Health conscious

  • Languages spoken

    I speak fluent English & know a small amount of Spanish.

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    I enjoy meeting and getting to know people through a good old fashion conversation.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements