Frank

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belgium, France, Germany, Netherlands, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/04/2016 - 31/12/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello! I'm a 29 year old TEFL certified (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) English tutor that speaks reasonably good french and is looking for experience working in the French wine industry.

    I also have a bachelors of the Art's degree in Professional and Media writing as well as two minors in Photography and Western Philosophy.

    I Spent three years helping build and manage a small vineyard near my hometown in Pennsylvania and am currently starting to build a vineyard on my family's 22 acre property here in the United States (mainly focusing on whites because red's do not do well here in Pennsylvania). So I'm eager to learn more about wine making, vineyard management, sales and basically anything related to the wine industry!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I grew up on a farm and have spent three year's helping build a small vineyard as well as planting my own here in Pennsylvania. So I have extensive experience with heavy machinery (tractors, chainsaws, trucks, excavators, etc) farm animals, Bee hive care and management, cutting brush, and vineyard planting and management.

    I've also spent five years working as a river guide and 4 years working on various ropes courses so I am quite accustomed to working with tourists. I also did two seasons selling Christmas tree's in New York City as well as in various other sales jobs so I have a good deal of experience with selling various products. I've also worked as a painter and in building construction for four years.

    Overall I'm quite adaptable and a quick study.

  • Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I also enjoy rock climbing and boating and am a beginner fencer. So if you need a buddy for those activities I'm happy to oblige!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Oranges, I can't eat them.

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

When I visited Pere Lachaise
Teaching my student, Sam to make apple dumplings during my stay in St. Cloud, France
My fellow interns and I at the end of our internship in the state capital Harrisburg.
When I met the sun king in Versailles!
Taking a local Newsman on a tour of the Delaware river.
Taking some rafters down the Lehigh River
The village in Switzerland my family emigrated from in the 1600's
Digging the first holes for the vines at my first vineyard job!
Me with my very dapper hat checking out the waterfall.

Feedback