Sophie

  • Austria
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (2)

Profile is connected to:

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    View all
  • Description

    It’s not that easy to write a few sentences of what makes you tick and who you are. But let’s give it a try.

    My name is Sophie; I grew up in Austria and finished my studies in Social Work last year. After a turbulent, exciting and uncertain year 2020, which I'm very grateful for and in which I got alot of opportunities to get a little insight in this beautfiul big world, I'm back for some adventures :)

    I’m in a very privileged situation, curious about what the world is about, full of hope and joy, looking optimistic in a future with challenges, new opportunities and experiences. (But still without a strict master plan) So right now I want to continue traveling, explore new things, get to know new people, be a part of something, learn new things, share experiences, work independently, see where my journey is taking me. For me workaway is a great opportunity for both sides.

    Puh, now I wrote a lot about expectations and not so much about myself.
    So: I would describe myself as a calm, reflected, curious and empathic human-being who is not good at describing itself or throwing around with positive adjectives. I like good and long conversations about everything; I appreciate other people’s stories and like working together on a project. But I also really enjoy being alone and having time for myself. I would say that I’m at a point in my life, where I really need this time for myself. I love reading, doing yoga, going on a hike, swimming, laughing, alternative ways of living, baking muffins, trying out new things (like making your own washing powder out of chestnuts) and gardening (I raised vegetables in the garden of my last apartment and no one can describe the joy of harvesting your first raised zucchini).
    Other things I really love: my family, shooting stars, sunrises and sunsets (the sun in general), the moon, animals (not a big spider fan, but working on that), plants, openness, smiles, campfire, trees, big trees, heartiness, paying attention to moments, hammocks and grandmas food of course. (my mom read my profile, so I want to add: mom, I looooove your food! dreaming of your lasagna!)

    My last year was pretty exciting, it turned out to become totally different than I could have ever imagined. I got to spent alot of time in nature and the opportunity to connect with myself and my environment in a very spiritual way. I'm very grateful for all my experiences and all the people I shared my way with.

    I don’t know if that’s a good or adequate profile description, but hopefully enough to get in contact! :)

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
  • More details about your skills

    One of my skills is openness. I’m very willing to learn new things, whether it’s about skilled manual work, new recipes or caring for animals. I work independently, carefully and responsibly. I like challenges and working on solutions together. I don’t have any technical qualification, but I enjoyed being a helping hand for my carpenter-dad.

    As I mentioned before, I have little knowledge of gardening, because of my garden (Still thinking of my delicious harvest from last summer including zucchinis, cucumbers, tomatoes, peppers and carrots) and my previous workaways.

    I lived alone in a flat for the last four years. I would call myself an expert at doing dishes ;) Apart from that, I like to keep the place I live clean and tidy. So: household-skills if that’s even a word. In Summer 2021 I spent more than a month at an ecovillage/Seminar Center, where I‘ve been working in a professional kitchen (mostly doing dishes, working in a team) and at housekeeping (preparing room for guests, cleaning bathrooms and general maintenance at the main house). I enjoyed doing this kind of tasks.

    As I already mentioned, I studied Social Work. During my studies I learnt alot about myself, human behavior and society and I gained a lot of social skills. My studies, all my experiences and especially finding pleasure in my meditation practice made me mature, down-to-earth and showed me what is important in life. Before my studies I worked as a kindergarten teacher for about a year (children aged 1 to 6) and to finance my studies I worked as a babysitter (children aged 2 to 8). So some experience of childcare :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Interested in improving my french skills

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    Just contact if you have further questions about me or my travel plans :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm a vegetarian.

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback