Christo & Emma

From: Netherlands & Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Netherlands

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/08/2019 - 28/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello hosts!
    Our names are Emma and Christo. We are adventurous Canadian travellers and students, born and raised in Vancouver, recently graduated from McGill University in Montreal (Emma in Chemical Engineering and Christo in Maths and Physics), with plans to travel and work this upcoming summer!
    We have known each other for almost ten years and get along swimmingly. We've travelled together and separately before, though primarily in Europe and North America. This summer we head East -- though we aren't sure where yet... Japan, Australia, New Zealand... so many options!
    Christo: I'm now doing my Masters at the University of Amsterdam in the Netherlands, halfway through a two-year programme. I'm headed to Seoul, South Korea for an exchange programme, which begins in September. On the way there, I have plenty on my list -- places to see, people to meet, and Workaways to challenge myself with!
    Emma: Having graduated recently, I'm now looking to move to the Netherlands to pursue cutting-edge work!
    We are positive, friendly, and curious. We are hard workers, minimalists, and great respecters of our surroundings and the environment. We are outdoorsy and enjoy hiking, camping, and exploring nature.
    We look forward to connecting with you!
    Emma and Christo

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    We are both healthy, athletic and hard-working. More importantly, we are very willing to learn new skills!
    More specifically:
    Christo: I am comfortable with physical labour and heavy lifting. Some of my training is in experimental physics, so machinery and working with my hands is something I'm used to. I have some experience gardening and am keen to learn more about gardening and farming in general. My passion is teaching, and I have both volunteered and worked with kids of all ages, so if that can be made of service then all the better!
    Emma: I have experience in a garden centre and am comfortable with physical labour. I am passionate and have training in sustainable ecological design from my education that I would love to apply to a project if that is needed.

  • Languages spoken

    English (native), French (fluent), Dutch (basic)

  • Age

    22 & 23

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no allergies!

    • Special dietary requirements
      Christo: I am vegetarian (no meat, poultry or seafood)!

Feedback