Elizabeth

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Chile, India, Indonesia, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, Thailand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2018 - 20/04/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi. Bonjour. Hola. Guten tag. Ciao. Salem. Namaste. Marhaba. Jambo. Halo!

    Hello future hosts, my name is Elizabeth and I'm grateful to be part of the Workaway community. I can't wait to meet you, come lend a hand, and learn about your country, animals, language, food, and family traditions.
    I am passionate about animals, traveling, teaching, making a difference, learning about people and their culture, discovering new foods, nature, language learning, and health. A few words my friends and family would use to describe me are: Hardworking, Reliable, Polite, Self-Motivating, Easygoing, Fit/Active, Organized, Calm, Good Communicator and Decision Maker, Patient, Helpful, Social. I love to cook and bake too, so I'm happy to jump in anyone's kitchen at any time!

    I completed the Camino Francés de Santiago during the summer of 2018, an 800 kilometer trek by foot from the south of France across the country of Spain to Santiago de Compostela. It was one of the most challenging and rewarding experiences of my life. After the Camino I visited family-friends in Portugal, Barcelona, Provence, and Paris before the first stop of my project for animals: Llandybie, Wales in the United Kingdom.

    After living and working in the south of Wales for nearly a month caring for farm animals, doing permaculture farming, and helping an incredible family with their children and their magical bnb, I moved on to Ireland. I then continued my project in France, Italy, Greece, Morocco, and I'm now in Tunisia assisting a veterinarian, as well as training and caring for 27 dogs at the shelter, including rehabilitation for many, putting systems in to place to keep things running smoothly, helping to run the shelter overall, and working on getting these sweet babies adopted! Most days it's one tragic emergency after the other being in a country where in the popular culture there is either an indifference or cruelty toward animals.

    I'm simply thrilled and incredibly grateful to be doing something about what I believe in.

    A brief background:

    After living and working in the entertainment industry in Los Angeles for 15 years, taking on private clients for dog training, and pursuing my philanthropic endeavors in animal rights and welfare in my personal time (including the rescue and rehabilitation of dogs and horses), I came to the realization I wasn't making a big enough difference. I decided to make helping/teaching animals and people my full time professional pursuit. So, I ended my career, enrolled at the University of California to study Fundraising and Development so I could help animal organizations on a larger scale and someday my own, and moved near San Francisco where I started a small business specializing in exercise adventures and training for dogs while I finished school.

    Once graduated, and after the heart wrenching passing of my very best friend, exercise partner, philanthropic warrior, work and travel buddy, my sweet pup of nearly 16 years, Cooper, I decided to do the Camino Frances de Santiago and then begin a project for animals in his honor: to travel to every continent to broaden my scope of animal rights and welfare on a global scale while making a difference at the community level by positively impacting the lives of animals and people all around the world.

    So, I sold my beloved car "Grisgris," closed my business, sold or donated everything I owned, and set out in July, 2018. Animals, world travel, making a difference, exploration, culture exchange, and compassion are what's motivating my whole life's purpose right now, and I can't wait to meet you.

    Be well and take good care,
    Elizabeth

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Hello future hosts!

    My skills are varied as I was trained in, and gained experience in a few different areas while pursing my acting and producing career in Los Angeles.

    I have 15 years of experience working in Animal Rights and Welfare with animals of all kinds, including the rescuing, care, and rehabilitation of dogs, horses, pigs, ducks, cats, chickens, and goats. Before leaving the states in the summer os 2018 I had a business near San Francisco as a dog trainer doing exercise adventures and training for dogs. I've been training pups since 2002.

    I have several months of experience assisting a veterinarian every day, as well as vet assistance experience in shorter increments as well, handling every kind of emergency imaginable, in addition to sterilizations, vaccinations, attending to burn victims, etc. I'm comfortable, calm, and focused in any emergency situation.

    I have 10+ years of experience working in Event Production/Hospitality/Catering where I managed operations, staffed events, served, designed, and assisted celebrity chefs. One of the highlights of my event production career was managing a dinner for then President of the United States, Barack Obama!

    I have worked as a Copy Editor for the editing of cookbooks, manuscripts, and technical papers.

    I LOVE to cook and bake, teaching myself as a child, and then learning even more from the celebrity chefs I worked side by side with in Los Angeles. I create my own nut butters, pestos, and beautiful desserts, in addition to savory breakfasts and dinners. The more color on the plate, the better!

    I recently graduated from The University of California, Davis, from the Fundraising and Development program with the goal to use those skills to help non-profit organizations and one day start my own.

    As an artist, I'm a trained actor and have also taught acting classes to teenagers. I'm a musician, playing the piano and singing since I was a child. I'm a photography enthusiast, and occasionally hired to shoot events.

    I'm delighted to be with and very comfortable with children. I grew up in a large family and have been watching over my younger siblings, nieces, and nephews since I was very young! I adore my family and am very close with them.

    I'm super handy inside and outside the house. I grew up doing landscaping and gardening at home and renovated my entire apartment in Los Angeles, including sanding, painting, light plumbing, refurbishing cabinets, redo-ing trim, and more; I was thrilled with how beautiful it turned out! Two of my favorite tools are a hammer and a drill. haaa

    I enjoy living a healthy lifestyle and am very fit. I'm capable of doing anything needed by way of caring for animals, or general maintenance on an estate.

  • Languages spoken

    English is my mother tongue, however I understand and speak a little Spanish and French as well.

  • Age

    42

  • Nationality

    USA

  • What else ...

    I love sharing delicious food and ideas together. I keep the ones I love close. My favorite place to visit is the place I haven't been yet. Being outside always makes me happy... and if it's with animals, even happier :) Practicing mindfulness and meditation brings a gentle peace to my life. And laying beneath the stars, listening to music, 30 second dance parties, or playing cards with friends and family always makes for a good time!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback