David & Yvonne

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    22/07/2019 - 08/10/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    DAVID
    I am a retired business systems analyst and bluewater sailor. My wife and I just sold our boat and are homeless! We love the idea of the Workaway program and are keen to test these waters. Our sailing days are over and we have some time to get involved.
    My main skillset is mechanical and electrical and I am the happiest when immersed in these activities. I love renewable energy efforts and support green technology. I am certified as an ABYC marine electrician and my first career was as a pilot, civilian and military.
    I love meeting new people and working on a team, both helping others and learning new things myself. I am also a sailing instructor.
    My wife Yvonne and I sailed from Florida to Fiji on our 50 foot yacht Abundance and had some unforgettable experiences. She will be with me and is a hard worker. She is an Occupational Therapist.
    We are presently on the south island of NZ and will be in NZ until early October.

    YVONNE
    I was raised on a farm in North Carolina so working with my hands is enjoyable to me. I love taking care of animals, gardening and farm chores. I have never sheared sheep, rustled cattle or worked in a vineyard but those activities are on my bucket list. I'm great at cleaning and can hold my own when cooking. I had a 32 year career as an Occupational Therapist so I have a caring nature for people. I am eager to experience New Zealand as a local would and to continue my mantra of "work hard, play hard!"

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    DAVID
    My last job was with Farmer Mold and Machine Works in St. Petersburg, FL and I was the Safety Manager and also worked assembling the machines we made for the lead acid battery industry. I installed new LED flourescent lamps in the assembly area and admin offices.
    I worked in the Air Quality Management Department in Clark County, Nevada for 18 years, as a field enforcement officer, a Permit Specialist, Programmer and Business Systems Analyst. I created a document imaging program for them as my latest project. Also trained as a Project Manager.
    I flew jets in the US Air Force after obtaining a BS Degree in Aeronautical Science from Embry-Riddle in Daytona Beach, FL where I grew up.
    Sailing was my passion for 20 years. My wife and I just finished sailing from the US to Fiji after doing an extensive refit of the boat while in Florida. I did major improvements to the electrical system and did many fiberglass projects including installing a tunnel bow thruster. I am a US Sailing certified Sailing Instructor. I have about 15,000 nm of bluewater sailing experience. I was Commodore of the Nevada Yacht Club for a year. We have sold our boat and are starting a new chapter of our lives.
    I am happiest when building and fixing things and am pretty good at woodworking and carpentry. I have excellent public speaking skills too.

    YVONNE
    I adapt easily to a variety of situations and consider myself to be a "low maintenance" kind of person. I strive to leave a place better than I found it. Although I don't always get the joke, my sense of humor is pretty good. If you give me an assignment, I'm diligent and take pride in the outcome. I may not be the quickest learner but once I learn it, it will be done right. I'm not afraid of hard work. I can do some basic sewing and painting jobs.

    AS A COUPLE, we are excited to be in the home for a 1-2 week duration helping out as needed. We are self sufficient and able to occupy ourselves with internet or reading so the host does not have to feel like they need to entertain us. We are looking forward to spending time socializing and dining with the family some evenings while taking off to explore the area and eat in restaurants other evenings to obtain our desired balance. David enjoys cooking and I clean as we go. We are both eager to learn and try the host's recipes as well. Can you tell that we are foodies? However, we are not finicky about our food. We will be traveling to Spain in November and would appreciate gaining some practice in that language if possible.

  • Languages spoken

    Would like to learn Spanish

  • Age

    65 & 61

  • What else ...

    We have purchased a car and plan to travel throughout New Zealand sightseeing and doing the Workaway program. When we leave there we are taking a cruise from Barcelona to the US in November 2019. Once there we will continue our traveling in a recreational vehicle/camper so as not to be "homeless" anymore.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No known allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      None. We both are non-vegetarian but could adapt to that lifestyle for our stay.

Photos

Feedback