Deborah

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Norway, Poland, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/07/2020 - 05/11/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    562

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello!
    Deb here from the West Coast, US. Most of my adult life has been spent in San Francisco, CA, where I became immersed in and influenced by the underground music & arts scene of the 90's/turn of the century. From this I developed my natural proclivities toward organizing creative community around the Arts, and utilize these skills in my current professional life as an independent marketing contractor. I believe creative expression is the heartbeat of any healthy community, and am dedicated to preserving that sort of existence within communities through art and culturally-integrated public experiences, and language.
    Part of the impetus for my finally getting to Europe is to be able to learn more about how the rest of the world is innovating for the future. Through sharing knowledge and experiences with the people I meet, I hope to be able to expand what I can add to our global, peaceable and inspirational existence. :) Getting TEFL Certified was something I decided to do after traveling because it's clear that sharing my love of communication through the English language is a gift I can add.
    I've been a part of workaway for over a year now, and have spent time during the journey in 7 countries: Holland, Belgium, Czech Republic, Italy, Spain, Poland and Germany. I have enjoyed getting to work in creative and communicative environments just as much - if not more - than leisure traveling, because it has afforded me the greatest sense of cultural integration along the way. Looking forward to doing more!
    I'm open to doing all kinds of jobs - kitchen/cafe help (as I did at a sculpture garden in July 2018), gardening, help with ecological projects, painting, writing, teaching - or anything with people and/or the environment. I love my life and look forward to meeting people who feel the same! Success to me means being good to humanity, so it's important to me to cultivate friendships and support strong communities. I make finding happiness a priority, and strongly believe that creativity & imagination are just as important as logic & reality.

  • Type of help

    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Teaching: TEFL Certified as of January 2019, and taught for 5 weeks in Poland during March & April before continuing my travels. I have experience teaching grade school level ESL students here in the states as well. Skilled in Creative Arts, Hospitality (serving food & drinks) light building, cooking, painting and would love to learn more about restoration. As mentioned, marketing & social media for creative projects is what I do at home, so happy to lend that skill if needed... and I love to learn! If you have the patience to teach me, I'm quick to catch on and eager to help.

  • Languages spoken

    English, very simple/basic Spanish

  • Age

    49

  • Nationality

    Native American/British/Norwegian (American Mut)

  • What else ...

    A quick rundown on my more professional background: I've got a BA in Social Work and have worked as a teacher, counselor, project manager, catering assistant, home staging assistant, and event production assistant (life is too short to do only one thing!), amongst some other odds & ends. My funnest job has been managing a circus in SF! I get along well with all sorts of people and communities, and have several references to this end that I can provide toward my work capabilities and that as a house mate. Currently residing in Portland, OR and learning to love the people here as well... interested in learning more about the ways in which my hosts/host families live within their communities and perhaps bring new and innovative ideas back to the states when I return. Thank you for reading!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no - part of traveling is trying the local cuisine! :)

Photos

two language students and me in Gdansk, Poland, April 2019
group activity with language group near Wroclaw, Poland, March 2019
completing a language program near Gdansk, Poland, April 2019
in Prague, before and after a workaway experience in Hradec Kralove in August, 2018
with my summer camp kids at House of English camp, Hradec Kralove 2018
by the Cinque Terre sea, September 2018
by the Pisa sea in September, 2018
Venice, of course... Sept 2018
January 2018, Women's march on San Francisco - a march that is also a global statement that I fully stand behind! Advocates of Truth.
with my best friend under the golden gate bridge, SF, CA, a place i called home for many years

Feedback