Darcy

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Romania

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2020 - 01/01/2022

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    933

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello! I'm a 23 year old girl from the UK, currently volunteering in Romania.
    I have been living non-stop through workaway for over 2 years, and have loved every minute. I am so blessed to have met so many amazing people, worked on such great projects and learnt so much. Most of my professional/trained skills are in hospitality/tourism and childcare and ESL teaching (details below), but I am also really active, I love being outdoors, working with animals, and getting creative.
    -- Just a note : I started my workaway account in 2017, but when it expired this year in January 2020 (because I was in a long-term volunteer position here in Romania) I did not renew my subscription until now (May 2020), so some of the analytical data (reply rate etc) may not be accurate! I reply I promise :)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Experienced admin/waitress/hostess/bartender (plus basic mixology skills) and trained housekeeper and catering assistant.
    Experience with hostel and hotel work including reception, cleaning, bar work, PR, social media management/content production and events.
    Volunteer experience in outreach programs, youth projects and workshops with young people surrounding social issues.
    Volunteer experience with community projects, and as an ESL tutor and language assistant.
    Experience in childcare/au pair both live-in and out from ages 2-11yrs.
    Experience looking after animals (domestic and farm), tending to stables and working outdoors.
    Basic painting/decorating experience, handy in the garden and around the house.
    1 year experience full-time live-in au pair and English Language tutor (adults and children) in Spain.
    Good Spanish level.
    Currently completing a degree in Childhood and Youth Studies, specializing in Child Psychology and Youth Justice Law.
    Currently volunteering as a Camp Counselor and English Language teacher (7-19yrs) in Transylvania, Romania

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    Love running around with kids and dogs, all water sports/hiking/cycling outdoorsy stuff. Big fan of exploring/learning/debate/discussion and new things, people and places. I am a university student; I study part time and take my classes, exams etc through my laptop, so unfortunately that means, at least for the moment, internet access is important. However, I have before and can manage with nearby cafes/libraries etc. This also means that I genuinely cannot work excessively overtime/more than pre-agreed schedules, as I arrange my classes and studies around it.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Penicillin

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback