Jahia

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/04/2019 - 30/04/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    334

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Half-German, half-Caribbean-American artist. I am an artist by nature. But I am no longer coming to workaways solely for mural work as I did previously.
    Loves camping, hiking, working with animals and gardening. Mountains are my favorite ecosystem but lately I am feeling drawn to the desert...
    I have a Bachelor’s degree in English Literature with a minor in French.
    I have been traveling literally all of my life. I have the traveler’s spirit. I believe that the small corners of the world where good workaways happen offer an important kind of shelter from capitalism and heteronormativity.
    My favorite ways to spend time are painting, reading, learning new skills and trades.
    Some things I want to learn are beekeeping, more herbal/wilderness medicine, baking bread or cloth-dying for example.
    I am someone who is very connected to the earth. I get along well with thoughtful, funny and intelligent people who respect nature and know when to have fun and when to be serious.
    No racism, sexism, homophobia, xenophobia or general bs please.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    I have artistic and creative skills, like drawing and painting and a general eye for aesthetics. Strong organizational skills that can be applied broadly
    I have classic animal sense. I raised goats from infancy when I was growing up and had cats and rabbits. Have collected eggs from chickens, fed pigs, etc. I do my best to help strays and orphaned animals where I can. My cat Yasenka, sometimes travels with me.
    Many farm/gardening skills: Have transplanted seedlings, I like weeding, planting seeds, harvested strawberries, stocked mushroom logs, dug up carrots and potatoes, sold produce at a farmers market, picked kale and collards, etc. Some medicinal plant knowledge.
    I am a great cook (so I’ve been told)! My specialty is creative vegetarian dishes. I also make good fried or sautéed fish and am learning more vegan recipes. My vegan cooking skills depend on what ingredients you have available. I make a mean vegan mac & cheese!
    I am a people-person, often making strong connections and impressions wherever I go. Huge animal lover. My best skill is being open to learning new things; if you are willing to teach, there is almost no limit to what we can do together.

  • Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish, some German

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    American/German

  • What else ...

    I practice yoga, followed by meditation and flexibility exercises every day for around 30-40 minutes and generally in the morning.
    If you are a hooper we can hoop together :) I always bring my hoop Perla with me
    Peace & love

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

me & one of my animal friends
A better picture of my first mural

Feedback