Lucas

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Germany

  • ...

    Travel dates

    09/06/2019 - 20/07/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello!
    My name is Luke. I'm a 27 year old male from Reno, Nevada, USA. I'm one year away from getting my PhD in Clinical Psychology. My research was from a community psychology perspective on local food systems and local agriculture (farmers markets, CSAs, community/urban gardens, etc.) and how it relates to mental well-being and sense of belonging.
    I've recently picked up playing the guitar as well as painting and enjoy creative/artistic pursuits and outlets. I love intellectual conversation as well as talking and learning about history and sociology. I also enjoy the outdoors and grew up skiing the Sierra Nevadas of California/Nevada. This summer (early June through late July) I'm looking to meet like-minded people and enjoy and immerse myself in the wonderful history and culture of Spain and Germany while also learning about sustainable practices, gaining handyman skills, and learning to speak Spanish and German.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    The past 8 years I've been in school studying psychology and philosophy. The past few years I have been conducting therapy/counseling with a university aged population at a university counseling center as well as teaching college courses on psychology. In this sense I feel like my interpersonal/people skills are great and can get along with anyone and feel comfortable teaching. I'm down to earth and am good at remaining calm in tense situations. I have also worked as a summer camp counselor so I am good around kids and know how to supervise while also having fun.
    Growing up my father had excellent "handyman skills" and passed them on to me. Recently my interests have shifted to sustainable food practices and community building through food and though I don't have much direct experience in those areas I hope to gain some experience in those areas (though my workaway experience does not have to have those things specifically). I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty and am willing to do/able-bodied to do heavy lifting and manual labor, taking care of animals, fixing things, etc. I'm comfortable around power tools and yard-equipment. I pick things up quickly and am a fast learner. I'm curious and willing to be open to new experiences.

  • Languages spoken

    English. Some Spanish.

  • Age

    28

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback