Coleman & Kathryn

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2019 - 01/11/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    643

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello Workaway Host!

    Our names are Katie and Coleman. We are both 25 years old, Katie is from Pennsylvania and Coleman is from New Hampshire. We have been together for 6 years, we met while attending college in Philadelphia at Drexel University where we both graduated in June of 2018 with our bachelor’s degree in Architecture. While attending school we also worked full-time in architecture firms, taking classes at night. In the 6 years that we’ve been together we’ve tried to travel as much as we could. Our first workaway experience was in Puerto Rico working at a hostel in 2014. The next summer we took 2 months to travel all over Italy. While living in Philly we also traveled together to Iceland, London, Singapore, and Indonesia.

    Since graduating college we have taken time off to travel and explore our interests. In July of 2018 we left Philadelphia to travel Europe. Coleman spent a month volunteering at a permaculture community in the Isle of Skye, Scotland, while Katie spent that time volunteering at a Buddhist Temple & Meditation Center in the Lakes District, England. In September we met up in Edinburgh and spent the next 2 months traveling Scotland, Ireland, England, France, Portugal, and Spain.

    Last winter we pursued another one of our interests; snowboarding. We spent the season working at Steamboat Springs Ski Resort in Colorado. Being a lift attendant or “liftie” requires running the ski lifts and making sure that everyone gets on safely, but it also meant we got to snowboard in and out of work every day which was great. We worked at Steamboat Springs from November until April.

    We are currently in Skagway, Alaska. We both work for the White Pass and Yukon Route, which was a railway that was built for the Klondike gold rush but now runs as a scenic tourist train. Coleman works as a tour guide on the train, while Katie works on the docks organizing guests from the cruise ships onto the train. Living in Alaska is great because there are many hiking trails around us and, of course, it is beautiful up here.

    We plan on returning to Steamboat Springs at the end of November, but we would love to spend October in Hawaii. Coleman had gone to Hawaii as a kid with his family and fell in love with the state, Katie has never been and is excited to explore the natural beauty of the island. We would love to do something related to architecture or construction, but we would also be more than happy to volunteer on a farm or permaculture community, or even for a family who needs some extra help around the house.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Both of our passions are architecture. We would love to be involved in some sort of design or construction project, if you have anything small-scale. Coleman has worked at 3 different architecture firms while in Philadelphia, as has Katie. Ironically, we both worked at two separate firms that had 3 employees each, and both firms focused mostly on residential projects. We also worked as-needed for one of our professors who owned her own practice that also focused on residential projects and rehabilitations. We both helped build a tiny house for a school project while in Philadelphia, so we have experience on small-scale construction. I don’t want to overstate our skills in construction, we both have a better-than-average understanding of structures and design, but we are young and can’t build anything under the sun. If you do have experience in construction that would be amazing, we would love to learn more while volunteering.

    We also have experience in hospitality. As stated before we both worked in a hostel in Puerto Rico, and we have worked in the tourism industry for almost a year now at Steamboat Springs and White Pass and Yukon Route. We are both very personable and easy-going people. We both have a good work ethic and are willing to get our hands dirty if needed.

    Having studied architecture, we also are pretty good with computers. We both know PhotoShop and 3D modeling programs as well as computer drafting or CAD.

    Coleman has a passion for painting as well, and he is a very gifted artist. Katie also enjoys pursuing photography, yoga, & meditation in her free time.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    25 & 25

  • Nationality

    USA

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Katie is allergic to cats and horses, so please let us know if you have either of those.

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback