Lola & Ian

From: New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy, Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2018 - 30/11/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Kia Ora, we are down-to-earth, nature connected people who love to camp, hike, laugh. Ian’s an ex-dairy farmer from the north of New Zealand and also used to run his own organic citrus orchard. He is a allround-handyman and has a great eye for landscaping and garden developing. Lola is a speech language therapist and yogini who cares for people and nature and loves spending time in her vegetable garden and kitchen growing, harvesting, preserving and experimenting with healthy recipes. After hosting Wwoofers for over 12 years we decided to see what the world has outside our adorable home, get inspirations, share our knowledge and skills, immerse ourselves in new cultures and meet fun people.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Ian is a practical person who can put his hand to anything really... Coming from a farming background with experience in growing vegetables and fruit, gardening, landscaping, He is competent with machinery such as tractor, trucks, chainsaw, building tools etc. Before we started travelling Ian spent 18 month renovating an old packhouse into our new house.
    Lola used to work as a speech and language therapist in both Germany and New Zealand. Generally curious and with a thirst of knowledge she also enjoys physical work and proofed herself throughout various jobs and Wwoofing experiences as gardener, van driver, managing a recycling station, waiting, office jobs and more. Recently she completed a Yoga Teacher Training and is starting to explore Ashram Yoga Practices.

  • Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Age

    39 & 53

  • What else ...

    Ian is a keen photographer. He loves fishing, creating things and living an outdoorsy, active lifestyle.
    Lola is into yoga and Ayurveda, experiencing on the go and keen to learn more about herbs, alternative medicines etc.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      we try to maintain a healthy organic diet where possible

Photos

Lola and Ian
give the man a spade and a tractor - and get the job done ;-)
Lola is oiling boards
Ian doing what he does best...
olive harvest
cooking octopus peka
milking Rosie
building a garden shed
taking the goats for a walk
feeding the pigs
sowing seeds
making a rock wall

Feedback